| Giorgia Bertazzi
Pianist

Nobu

Described by The Observer as the ​“definition of virtuosity” Japanese pianist Nobuyuki Tsujii (Nobu), who has been blind from birth, won the joint Gold Medal at the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in 2009 and has gone on to earn an international reputation for the passion and excitement he brings to his live performances. 

Nobu has appeared in concert with leading orchestras worldwide including Mariinsky Orchestra, Philharmonia, BBC Philharmonic, NHK Symphony, Yomiuri Nippon Symphony, Tokyo Symphony and Japan Philharmonic orchestras, Seattle and Baltimore symphony orchestras, Filarmonica della Scala and the Sinfonieorchester Basel under the baton of conductors such as Valery Gergiev, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Vladimir Spivakov, Juanjo Mena and Vasily Petrenko. Nobu’s past appearances as a recitalist have seen him perform at prestigious venues across the world such as Carnegie Hall’s Stern Auditorium, the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris, the Wigmore Hall and Royal Albert Hall in London, the Berlin Philharmonie, and Vienna’s Musikverein. 

Following a summer season that included critically acclaimed appearances with Los Angeles Philharmonic at the Hollywood Bowl, at the Verbier Festival, the Snape Maltings Proms, Biarritz Piano Festival, Musica Mundi Festival, and the Festival de Menton, Nobu’s 2022/23 season sees him perform recital programmes at Carnegie Hall, London’s Queen Elizabeth Hall, Birmingham Town Hall, and the Liverpool Philharmonic Hall. Nobu also features as a concerto soloist with Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra under Domingo Hindoyan, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra under Vasily Petrenko, the Seattle Symphony Orchestra under Jiri Rozen, the Sarasota Orchestra, and the Bilbao Symphony Orchestra, in addition to numerous solo and concerto appearances across his native Japan. Earlier seasons have seen Nobu work with Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg under Kent Nagano and the NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover under Andrew Manze. He received critical acclaim for his recitals at the Amsterdam Concertgebouw and the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, as well as his debut with Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra. 

Menu

Portrait de Nobu © Giorgia Bertazzi
Pianiste

Nobu

Dernière mise à jour: 27 octobre 2022

Décrit par The Observer comme étant la ​« définition de la virtuosité », le pianiste japonais Nobuyuki Tsujii (Nobu), aveugle de naissance, a remporté la médaille d’or ex aequo au Concours international de piano Van Cliburn en 2009. Depuis, la passion et l’enthousiasme dont il fait preuve lors de ses prestations lui ont valu une réputation internationale.

Nobu a joué au sein de nombreux orchestres célèbres : Orchestre Mariinsky, Orchestre Philharmonia, Orchestre philharmonique de la BBC, Orchestre symphonique de la NHK, Orchestre symphonique Yomiuri Nippon, Orchestre symphonique de Tokyo, Orchestre philharmonique du Japon, Orchestres symphoniques de Seattle et de Baltimore, Orchestre philharmonique de la Scala ou encore Orchestre symphonique de Bâle. Il a notamment été dirigé par les chefs d’orchestre Valery Gergiev, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Vladimir Spivakov, Juanjo Mena et Vasily Petrenko. En tant que récitaliste, Nobu s’est produit dans les salles de concert les plus prestigieuses du monde, comme le Stern Auditorium du Carnegie Hall, le Théâtre des Champs-Élysées de Paris, le Wigmore Hall et le Royal Albert Hall de Londres, la Philharmonie de Berlin et le Musikverein de Vienne.

Après une série de prestations estivales acclamées par la critique au Hollywood Bowl (avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de Los Angeles), au Verbier Festival, aux Proms de Snape Maltings, au Biarritz Piano Festival, au Musica Mundi Festival et au Festival de musique de Menton, Nobu poursuit sa saison 2022-2023 avec des récitals au Carnegie Hall, au Queen Elizabeth Hall de Londres, à l’hôtel de ville de Birmingham et au Liverpool Philharmonic Hall. Nobu sera également soliste de concerto avec l’Orchestre philharmonique royal de Liverpool (dirigé par Domingo Hindoyan), l’Orchestre philharmonique royal (dirigé par Vasily Petrenko), l’Orchestre symphonique de Seattle (dirigé par Jiri Rozen), l’Orchestre de Sarasota et l’Orchestre symphonique de Bilbao. Il interprétera également plusieurs concertos et solos au Japon, dont il est originaire. Lors des saisons précédentes, Nobu avait joué aux côtés du Philharmonisches Staatsorchester de Hambourg, sous la direction de Kent Nagano, et aux côtés du NDR Radiophilharmonie de Hanovre, sous la direction d’Andrew Manze. Il a été salué par la critique pour ses récitals au Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam et au Théâtre des Champs-Élysées ainsi que pour sa première prestation avec l’Orchestre philharmonique d’Oslo.

Événements

Menu