Nina Menon |
Choreographer

Nina Menon

Nina Menon joined the Royal Winnipeg Ballet after graduating from the Royal Conservatory of The Hague and the Royal Winnipeg Ballet School’s Professional Division. As a member of the corps de ballet, she danced numerous soloist roles and, in 1990, she made her choreographic debut at the Royal Winnipeg Ballet’s choreographic workshop. The success of this ballet and others, plus the commissioning by the Royal Winnipeg Ballet of her popular ballet La Soif, led Artistic Director André Lewis to appoint Nina Menon Resident Choreographer.

Highlights of Menon’s residency include Drunken Butterflies, a ballet choreographed to polish composer Henryk Mikolaj Gorecki. This ballet explores the life of an immigrant family through dance and film. In 1999, she collaborated with Galina Yordanova on the Royal Winnipeg Ballet’s new version of Nutcracker which premiered in Ottawa at the NAC. In the same season, Menon shared with the world her East Indian ancestral roots by creating a ballet to The Gita Govinda. Collaborating with composer Mychael Danna (Felicia’s Journey, Monsoon Wedding, Vanity Fair), Menon’s ballet, The Gitagovinda, told an ancient story from her personal connection with the poem. The sacred poem was passed down to the choreographer by her grandmother.

During her residency, Nina Menon choreographed several ballets for the Professional Division students and taught dance at the Royal Winnipeg Ballet’s Recreational Division. She now lives in Montreal with life partner Mark Godden and their two sons. She teaches ballet at Sheila Parkins Dance Academy and several Montessori schools. In her spare time, she loves to garden.

Menu

Nina Menon |
Chorégraphe

Nina Menon

Nina Menon se joint au Royal Winnipeg Ballet (RWB) après avoir obtenu son diplôme du Conservatoire royal de La Haye et de la Division professionnelle de l’École du RWB. À titre de membre du corps de ballet, elle interprète de nombreux rôles solistes et, en 1990, elle effectue ses débuts comme chorégraphe dans le cadre de l’atelier chorégraphique du RWB. Impressionné par le succès remporté par ce ballet et par d’autres créations de Menon, dont le ballet La Soif – chaleureusement accueilli par le public –, que lui avait commandé le RWB, le directeur artistique André Lewis la nomme chorégraphe en résidence.

Pendant sa résidence, Menon crée notamment Drunken Butterflies, ballet réglé sur une musique du compositeur polonais Henryk Mikolaj Gorecki. Cette œuvre explore la vie d’une famille d’immigrants à travers la danse et le cinéma. En 1999, la chorégraphe collabore avec Galina Yordanova à la création d’une nouvelle version de Casse‑Noisette que le RWB présente en première au CNA. Au cours de la même saison, elle partage avec le public ses lointaines origines de l’est de l’Inde en signant un ballet inspiré du Gita Govinda, en collaboration avec le compositeur Mychael Danna (Felicia’s Journey, Monsoon Wedding, Vanity Fair). Le ballet de Menon, intitulé The Gitagovinda, représente les impressions personnelles de la chorégraphe sur ce poème sacré que lui a transmis sa grand-mère.

Toujours pendant sa résidence, Menon chorégraphie plusieurs ballets pour les élèves de la Division professionnelle et enseigne la danse à la Division récréative du RWB. Elle vit actuellement à Montréal avec son conjoint Mark Godden et leurs deux fils. Elle enseigne le ballet à l’Académie de danse Sheila Parkins et dans plusieurs écoles Montessori. Dans ses temps libres, elle adore faire du jardinage.

Menu