|
Managing Director, English Theatre

Nathan Medd

Nathan Medd joined Canada’s National Arts Centre in 2013 as managing director of English Theatre, working with a highly talented team of theatre-makers from all corners of the country. Nathan is the co-founder of two studios that are at the heart of contemporary performing arts creation on the west coast of Canada: Progress Lab 1422, a co-op creation centre in Vancouver; and the 200-seat Metro Studio in Victoria, one of the busiest live venues in British Columbia for independent dance, theatre and music. In 2012 he co-founded Vancouver Creative Space (CSpace), a cultural property management company that responded to a trend of arts organizations co-locating in a challenging real estate market.

As managing producer of Canada’s acclaimed innovator Electric Company Theatre (2007-2013), Nathan produced original stage works at venues like American Conservatory Theater in San Francisco and the Vancouver 2010 Cultural Olympiad. Electric Company tripled in size during his tenure, and one production received a feature film adaptation (Eadweard / Studies in Motion). Previously Nathan worked in cultural policy at the BC Arts Council as its theatre program officer, and in festival production as development & operations manager with Intrepid Theatre (Victoria Fringe and Uno festivals).

He has enjoyed long-term producing collaborations with two Siminovitch prize-winning directors (Kim Collier and Jillian Keiley) and a Governor General’s Performing Arts Award recipient (Kevin Kerr) among other acclaimed artists. Nathan was in the global pioneer class of Harvard Business School’s first-ever distance program, HBX, and is currently completing a graduate degree in Management at Harvard University. He holds a BFA degree in Theatre and English from the University of Victoria.

Menu

Tous les spectacles et événements sont annulés jusqu’au lundi 27 avril 2020
 |
Directeur administrative, Théâtre anglais

Nathan Medd

Nathan Medd est, depuis 2013, directeur administratif du Centre national des Arts, où il travaille avec une équipe de très talentueux artisans du théâtre de tous les coins du pays. Il a cofondé deux studios qui sont au cœur de la création dans le domaine des arts de la scène sur la côte Ouest : Progress Lab 1422, centre de création à locataires multiples situé à Vancouver, et le Metro Studio de Victoria – une salle de 200 places qui est l’une des adresses les plus courues en Colombie-Britannique pour les spectacles indépendants de danse, de théâtre et de musique. Il a également cofondé en 2012 le Vancouver Creative Space (CSpace), une société de gestion de biens culturels répondant à une tendance, observée au sein des organisations artistiques, à faire de la location partagée dans un marché immobilier difficile.

À titre de producteur administratif du populaire et novateur Electric Company Theatre (2007-2013), Nathan Medd a produit des œuvres originales qui ont pris la scène notamment à l’American Conservatory Theater à San Francisco et à l’Olympiade culturelle 2010 de Vancouver. L’Electric Company Theatre a triplé de volume sous sa direction, et une des productions que Nathan y a montées a fait l’objet d’une adaptation cinématographique (Eadweard / Studies in Motion). Nathan a travaillé auparavant dans le domaine des politiques culturelles comme agent de programmes en théâtre au BC Arts Council, et en production de festivals comme gestionnaire du développement et des opérations au Intrepid Theatre (festivals Victoria Fringe et Uno).

Il a par ailleurs collaboré à de nombreuses productions signées par des artistes renommés dont les metteures en scène Kim Collier et Jillian Keiley, toutes deux lauréates d’un prix Siminovitch, et Kevin Kerr, lauréat d’un Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle. Nathan a pris part à la « global pioneer class » du tout premier programme de téléenseignement de la Harvard Business School, HBX, et poursuit actuellement des études supérieures en gestion à l’Université Harvard. Il a un Baccalauréat en beaux-arts avec spécialisation en théâtre et en anglais de l’Université de Victoria.

 

Menu