|

Natalie MacMaster

Canada

Natalie MacMaster: wife, mother and virtuoso Cape Breton fiddler. You know her more as the latter than the former; an electrifying performer whose passionate proficiency on the beloved four-string amplifies the traditional East Coast sound for contemporary times.

It’s a signature sound that has resonated with world audiences through 11 albums, multiple gold sales figures and 27 years; numerous JUNO and East Coast Music Awards; the Order Of Canada — and a reputation as one of Canada’s most captivating performers. Natalie’s most recent album, Cape Breton Girl, sees her return to her roots with a traditionallybased album which embodies the true Cape Breton sound.

Natalie MacMaster has performed on three continents, sharing the stage with The Chieftains, Paul Simon, Faith Hill and Luciano Pavarotti, and in front of millions on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, Late Night with Conan O’Brien, the ABC 2002 New Year’s Eve Special and Good Morning America. She has thrilled audiences throughout Europe and North America, especially in her native Canada, enabling MacMaster to passionately perform and promote the universal language of her Cape Breton sound. She made her NAC debut in 2001, and her most recent appearance with the NAC Orchestra was during Orchestras in the Park on July 25, 2009.

Menu

|

Natalie MacMaster

Canada

Épouse, mère et virtuose du violon populaire du Cap-Breton, Natalie MacMaster est surtout connue pour ce dernier attribut : celui d’une interprète électrisante, dont la maîtrise passionnée des quatre cordes bien-aimées donne aux sons traditionnels de la Côte est une ampleur toute nouvelle pour notre temps.

Elle possède, en effet, un son inimitable qui a séduit les auditoires du monde entier au fil de ses 27 ans de carrière ponctués de onze albums, dont plusieurs disques d’or, de nombreux prix JUNO et East Coast Music Awards, et de son intronisation dans l’Ordre du Canada — en plus de lui valoir une réputation d’interprète parmi les plus fascinants que le Canada ait produits. Dans son plus récent album, Cape Breton Girl, elle renoue avec ses racines en proposant des musiques traditionnelles qui illustrent le son authentique du Cap-Breton.

Natalie MacMaster s’est produite sur trois continents, côtoyant sur scène The Chieftains, Paul Simon, Faith Hill et Luciano Pavarotti, et est apparue devant des millions de téléspectateurs aux émissions The Tonight Show avec Jay Leno, Late Night avec Conan O’Brien, l’émission spéciale du Nouvel an 2002 du réseau ABC et Good Morning America. Elle a charmé les auditoires partout en Europe et en Amérique du Nord, particulièrement au Canada, s’imposant partout comme une ambassadrice passionnée du langage musical universel du Cap-Breton. Elle a fait ses débuts au CNA en 2001, et sa plus récente prestation avec l’Orchestre du CNA remonte à 2009, dans le cadre des concerts Orchestres dans le parc.

Menu