October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
 |
Moderator

Nahlah Ayed

Nahlah Ayed is an award-winning veteran of foreign reporting: first, in the Middle East where she spent nearly a decade covering the region's many conflicts. And later, while based in London, she covered many of the major stories of our time: Russia's annexation of Crimea, Europe's refugee crisis, the Brexit vote and its fallout. Among her many awards and distinctions are a Prix Italia she won in 2011, for a team-produced multi-media project, "Exile Without End", about a Palestinian refugee camp in Beirut. 
 
In 2012, her book, A Thousand Farewells, was shortlisted for a Governor General's Award. In 2016, Nahlah Ayed and her team won "Story of the Year" at the UK Foreign Press Association Awards for their documentary on child labour in India. In 2017, she won won a photojournalism award from the Canadian Association of Journalists for her story, The Rescuers.
 
She also holds three honorary doctorates from the University of Manitoba (2008), Concordia University (2016) and the University of Alberta (2018).Nahlah Ayed was born and raised (mostly) in Winnipeg, Canada.

Menu

|
Animatrice

Nahlah Ayed

Nahlah Ayed a été primée pour ses reportages à l’étranger, d’abord au Moyen-Orient où elle a passé près de dix ans à couvrir les nombreux conflits de la région. Plus tard, alors qu’elle était basée à Londres, elle a couvert plusieurs des grands événements de notre époque : l’annexion de la Crimée par la Russie, la crise des réfugiés en Europe, le vote du Brexit et ses retombées. Parmi ses nombreux prix et distinctions, citons : un Prix Italia qu’elle a remporté en 2011, pour un projet multimédia produit en équipe, Exile Without End, sur un camp de réfugiés palestiniens à Beyrouth.
 
Son livre, A Thousand Farewells (site en anglais), a été finaliste pour un prix du Gouverneur général en 2012. En 2016, Nahlah Ayed et son équipe ont remporté le prix du reportage de l’année aux UK Foreign Press Association Awards pour leur documentaire sur l’exploitation des enfants en Inde. En 2017, elle a remporté un prix de photojournalisme de l’Association canadienne des journalistes pour son reportage The Rescuers
 
Elle détient également trois doctorats honorifiques de l’Université du Manitoba (2008), de l’Université Concordia (2016) et de l’Université de l’Alberta (2018). Nahlah Ayed est née et a grandi (principalement) à Winnipeg, au Canada.

Menu