50% OFF subscriptions - 2 days only - Don't miss it!
Mikko Nissinen | Liza Voll

Mikko Nissinen

Hart Artistic Director’s Chair

Mikko Nissinen was appointed Artistic Director of Boston Ballet and Boston Ballet School in 2001. Born in Helsinki, Finland, Nissinen trained at The Finnish National Ballet School and the Kirov Ballet School in St. Petersburg, Russia. He danced professionally with The Finnish National Ballet, Dutch National Ballet, Basel Ballet, and San Francisco Ballet, where he was a principal dancer for ten years. Nissinen's vast repertoire ranged from classical to contemporary works. As a guest artist, he danced with various companies and partners and for numerous international galas.

Nissinen directed Alberta Ballet in Calgary from 1998–2001, also serving as Alberta Ballet’s Executive Director from 1999–2000.

As Artistic Director of Boston Ballet, Nissinen has defined the company’s image, cultivating a compelling and dynamic collection of classical, neo-classical, and contemporary repertoire. Firmly committed to developing the art form and the future of dance, Nissinen actively promotes progressive new work and creations. The company also performs Nissinen’s production of Swan Lake and the award-winning The Nutcracker.

In 2008, Nissinen served as Executive Director of Boston Ballet for a year and a half, during which time he provided full organizational leadership, initiated a major redesign of the organization’s image, branding and website, and facilitated the company’s move to its permanent performance home, the Citizens Bank Opera House.

Under his direction, Boston Ballet resumed touring after a 16-year hiatus, traveling to Paris, London, New York City, Spain, Korea, Canada, Finland and Washington D.C. In 2005, Nissinen appointed Jorma Elo as Resident Choreographer and in 2016 Nissinen established a long-term company partnership with choreographer William Forsythe. In addition, Nissinen leads Boston Ballet School, the largest dance school in North America.

Nissinen’s broad knowledge of dance, its history, and arts organization business leadership make him a popular presenter at conferences and universities worldwide. He was a fellow at Stanford’s Graduate School of Business he is a member of the New York Choreographic Institute’s Artistic Committee. He is the recipient of the Finlandia Foundation’s 2008 Arts and Letters Award, Boston’s 2009 Ambassador for the Arts Award and the 2007 United Nations Association of Greater Boston Leadership Award. In 2019, Nissinen was appointed a Knight, First Class of the Order of the Lion of Finland.  Nissinen is a dual Finnish and American citizen.

Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août
Mikko Nissinen | Liza Voll

Mikko Nissinen

Chaire de direction artistique Hart

Mikko Nissinen a été nommé directeur artistique du Boston Ballet et de son école de danse en 2001. Né à Helsinki (Finlande), il est formé à l’école du Ballet national de Finlande et à l’école du Ballet Kirov de Saint-Pétersbourg (Russie). Il œuvre ensuite comme danseur professionnel avec le Ballet national de Finlande, le Ballet national des Pays-Bas, le Ballet de Bâle et le San Francisco Ballet, où il se produit à titre de premier danseur pendant dix ans. Son vaste répertoire embrasse des œuvres classiques et contemporaines. À titre d’artiste invité, il danse avec des compagnies et partenaires variés à la faveur de nombreux galas internationaux.

De 1998 à 2001, il dirige l’Alberta Ballet, à Calgary, en plus d’en assurer la direction générale en 1999–2000.

À la direction artistique du Boston Ballet, Nissinen redéfinit l’image de la compagnie, alimentant un répertoire classique, néoclassique et contemporain à la fois attrayant et dynamique. Déterminé à contribuer à l’évolution et à l’avenir de la discipline, il promeut activement le développement et la création de nouvelles pièces avant-gardistes. La compagnie présente aussi ses productions primées du Lac des cygnes et de Casse-Noisette.

En 2008, il coiffe pour un an et demi le chapeau de directeur général du Boston Ballet. Pendant cette période, en plus de tenir fermement les rênes de l’organisation, il amorce une importante refonte de l’image, de la marque et du site Web du Boston Ballet, et orchestre l’aménagement de la compagnie dans son nouvel espace de diffusion permanent, le Citizens Bank Opera House.

Sous sa conduite, le Boston Ballet renoue avec les tournées après une interruption de seize ans, se produisant à Paris, Londres, New York, Washington (D.C.), en Espagne, en Corée du Sud, au Canada et en Finlande. En 2005, il nomme Jorma Elo au poste de chorégraphe en résidence, et établit en 2016 un partenariat de longue durée entre la compagnie et le chorégraphe William Forsythe. Mikko Nissinen dirige aussi l’école du Boston Ballet, plus grande école de danse en Amérique du Nord.   

Sa vaste connaissance de la danse et de son histoire, mais aussi de l’administration des organisations artistiques, fait de lui un conférencier recherché dans les congrès et les universités de la planète. Il a œuvré comme chargé de cours à l’École de commerce de l’Université Stanford, et est membre du comité artistique de l’Institut de chorégraphie de New York. Lauréat du prix des arts et lettres de la Fondation Finlandia en 2008 et du prix du leadership de la United Nations Association of Greater Boston (2007), il a aussi été nommé ambassadeur des arts de Boston (2009). Il a été fait chevalier de première classe de l’Ordre du Lion de Finlande en 2019. M. Nissinen détient la double citoyenneté finlandaise et américaine.

Menu