Michael J. Whitfield |
Lighting Designer

Michael J. Whitfield

Michael J. Whitfield has an extensive background in lighting design for theatre, ballet and opera.

A native of Victoria, B.C., Whitfield received his training in theatre at the University of Victoria, Villanova University and the University of Illinois. In 1974, he began a long association with the Stratford Festival, where he was for many years the Resident Lighting Designer and was responsible for the lighting design of a great variety of plays and musicals, including The Mikado, Amadeus and King Lear. He has worked extensively in Canadian regional theatre and his work is often seen at the Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre.

Whitfield is also much in demand as a lighting designer for opera and his designs have been featured at the San Francisco Opera, San Diego Opera Company, Houston Grand Opera, the Minnesota Opera, the Dallas Opera, the Welsh National Opera and for Canadian companies in Toronto, Montréal, Ottawa, Hamilton, Edmonton, Calgary, Banff and Vancouver. His lighting has been featured at the Canadian Opera Company for over 30 years, where designs included Wozzeck and Madama Butterfly.

In the world of ballet, Brian Whitfield’s work has been represented by Alice and The Nutcracker at the National Ballet of Canada, The Merry Widow for the American Ballet Theatre and Romeo & Juliet at the Finnish National Ballet.

For Canada’s Royal Winnipeg Ballet, his lighting design has also been seen in The Sleeping Beauty and Anne of Green Gables.

Menu

Michael J. Whitfield |
Concepteur des éclairages

Michael J. Whitfield

Michael J. Whifield a une grande expérience de la conception des éclairages pour le théâtre, l’opéra et le ballet.

Originaire de Victoria (C.-B.), il a reçu sa formation en théâtre à l’Université de Victoria, à l’Université Villanova et à l’Université de l’Illinois. En 1974, il a entamé une longue collaboration avec le Festival de Stratford, où il a été pendant plusieurs années concepteur des éclairages en résidence et chargé des lumières d’une grande variété de pièces et de comédies musicales, notamment The Mikado, Amadeus et King Lear. Il a aussi beaucoup travaillé pour les théâtres régionaux du Canada, et on a souvent pu applaudir son travail au Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre.

Whitfield est également très recherché pour la conception des éclairages pour l’opéra, et ses créations ont été présentées à l’opéra de San Francisco, du Minnesota et de Dallas, à la Compagnie d’opéra de San Diego, au Grand opéra de Houston, à l’Opéra national du pays de Galles, ainsi que par des compagnies canadiennes à Toronto, Montréal, Ottawa, Hamilton, Edmonton, Calgary, Banff et Vancouver. La Compagnie d’opéra canadienne fait appel à ses talents depuis plus de 30 ans. Il a notamment signé pour elle les éclairages de Wozzeck et de Madame Butterfly.

Dans le monde du ballet, Whitfield a créé les éclairages d’Alice et de Casse-Noisette pour le Ballet national du Canada, ceux de La Veuve joyeuse à l’American Ballet Theatre et ceux de Roméo et Juliette au Ballet national de Finlande.

Pour le Royal Winnipeg Ballet du Canada, il a également conçu les éclairages de La Belle au bois dormant et d’Anne… la maison aux pignons verts.

Menu