Meryl McMaster  |
photographer

Meryl McMaster

Meryl McMaster earned her BFA in Photography from the Ontario College of Art and Design University (2010) and is currently based in Québec, Canada. Known for her large-format self-portraits that have a distinct performative quality, she explores questions of self through land, lineage, history, and culture, with specific reference to her mixed nêhiyaw (Plains Cree), British and Dutch ancestry.  

McMaster’s work has been the subject of solo exhibitions at Urban Shaman, Winnipeg (2021), McCord Steward Museum, Montreal (2021), Canada House, London (2020), Ikon Gallery, Birmingham (2019), Ryerson Image Centre, Toronto (2019), Glenbow, Calgary (2019), The Room, St. John's (2018) Momenta Biennale, Montreal (2017), Museum of Contemporary Native Arts, Santa Fe (2015), and Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian, New York (2015), amongst others.  

From 2016-2020 her solo exhibition Confluence travelled to nine cities in Canada, including stops at the Richmond Art Gallery (2017), Thunder Bay Art Gallery, Thunder Bay (2017), University of Lethbridge Art Gallery, Lethbridge (2018), and The Judith and Norman Alix Art Gallery, Sarnia (2020).  

Her work has also appeared in group exhibitions at Sprengel Museum, Hannover (2021), Carleton University Art Gallery, Ottawa (2020), Australian Centre for Photography, Australia (2019), National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa (2018), Ottawa Art Gallery (2018, 2019), Kitchener Waterloo Art Gallery (2016, 2019), the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (2019), Plug In Institute for Contemporary Art, Winnipeg (2017), and Art Gallery of Guelph (2017), amongst others.  

She was shortlisted for the Rencontres d’Arles New Discovery Award 2019 and longlisted for the 2016 Sobey Art Award and is the recipient of numerous awards including the Scotiabank New Generation Photography Award, REVEAL Indigenous Art Award, Charles Pachter Prize for Emerging Artists, Canon Canada Prize, Eiteljorg Contemporary Art Fellowship and OCAD U Medal.  

Her work has been collected by significant Canadian institutions, including the Art Gallery of Ontario, Montreal Museum of Fine Art, and the National Gallery of Canada. 

Menu

Meryl McMaster  |
Photographe

Meryl McMaster

Meryl McMaster détient un baccalauréat en beaux-arts, photographie, de l’Université de l’École d’art et de design de l’Ontario (2010). Elle est présentement installée au Québec (Canada). Réputée pour ses autoportraits en grand format au caractère singulièrement théâtral, elle explore l’idée du moi dans la terre, l’héritage, l’histoire et la culture, autant de références à son héritage métissé nêhiyaw (Cris des plaines), britannique et néerlandais. 

Les œuvres de Meryl McMaster ont été présentées dans de nombreuses expositions solo à Urban Shaman, à Winnipeg (2021); au Musée Stewart, à Montréal (McCord, 2021); à la Maison du Canada, à Londres (2020); à la Galerie Ikon, à Birmingham (2019), au Ryerson Image Centre, à Toronto (2019); au Musée Glenbow, à Calgary (2019); à The Rooms, à Saint John’s (2018); à Momenta Biennale, à Montréal (2017); au Museum of Contemporary Native Arts, à Santa Fe (2015); et au Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian, à New York (2015), entre autres.  

De 2016 à 2020, son exposition solo Confluence a fait la tournée de neuf villes canadiennes et habité plusieurs lieux comme : la Galerie d’art de Richmond (2017); la Galerie d’art de Thunder Bay (2017); la Galerie d’art de l’Université de Lethbridge (2018); et la Galerie d’art de Judith and Norman Alix, à Sarnia (2020). 

Le travail de la photographe a également figuré dans des expositions de groupe au Musée Sprengel, à Hannover (2021); à la Galerie d’art de l’Université Carleton, à Ottawa (2020); à l’Australian Centre for Photography, en Australie (2019); au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (2019); au Plug In Institute for Contemporary Art, à Winnipeg (2017); et à la Galerie d’art de Guelph, entre autres.  

Meryl McMaster a été sélectionnée parmi les prétendants au titre du Prix découverte des Rencontres d’Arles en 2019, et l’on a murmuré son nom pour les Prix Sobey pour les arts de 2016. Elle est également récipiendaire de nombreuses distinctions, dont le Prix Nouvelle génération de photographes de la Banque Scotia, le REVEAL – Prix en art autochtone, le prix Charles Pachter pour les artistes de la relève, le prix Canon Canada, la bourse d’art contemporain Eiteljorg et la médaille de l’Université de l’EADO. 

Son travail a été acquis par des institutions canadiennes de renom, comme le Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario, le Musée des Beaux-arts de Montréal et le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada. 

Menu