October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
 | Rahi Rezvani

Medhi Walerski

Medhi Walerski became Artistic Director of Ballet BC in July 2020. He initially trained in Normandy before joining the Conservatoire Superieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris.

Walerski danced at the Paris Opera Ballet and the Ballet du Rhin before joining the Nederlands Dans Theater in 2001. For more than a decade at NDT, he was an integral part of the company. He participated in the creation of numerous new works and danced in the company’s repertoire. He was awarded the most important Dutch dance prize, VSCD Zwaan in 2013 for the most impressive dance performance.

He has worked closely alongside the creative forces of internationally established choreographers, creating and performing works by Jiří Kylián, William Forsythe, Mats Ek, Ohad Naharin, George Balanchine, Rudolf Nureyev, Paul Lightfoot and Sol Leon, and many more.

Walerski’s professional choreographic debut was in 2008 for NDT 2, he has since then developed a close relation with NDT and Ballet BC, as well as Bern Ballet, Goteborg Ballet, the Ballet State of Georgia, StaatBallet Hannover, Staattheater Wiesbaden and Charlotte ballet.

He is regularly invited to lecture and give workshops at Dance Conservatories and Dance Festivals in the Netherlands, The United States, China and Italy.

Menu

| Rahi Rezvani

Medhi Walerski

Medhi Walerski assure la direction artistique du Ballet BC depuis juillet 2020. Il a d’abord été formé en Normandie avant d’intégrer le Conservatoire supérieur de musique et de danse de Paris.

Walerski s’est produit avec le Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris et le Ballet du Rhin, puis s’est joint au Nederlands Dans Theater (NDT) en 2001. Pendant plus d’une décennie, il a fait partie intégrante de la compagnie. Il a participé à la création de nombreuses nouvelles œuvres et interprété le répertoire du NDT. En 2013, il a reçu la plus haute distinction en danse aux Pays-Bas, le prix VSCD Zwaan, pour une prestation d’exception.

Il a étroitement collaboré avec des chorégraphes de renommée mondiale, créant et interprétant des pièces de Jiří Kylián, William Forsythe, Mats Ek, Ohad Naharin, George Balanchine, Rudolf Noureïev, Paul Lightfoot, Sol Leon et bien d’autres.

Walerski a fait ses débuts de chorégraphe professionnel en 2008 pour le NDT 2 et a noué, depuis, une relation privilégiée avec le NDT et le Ballet BC, ainsi qu’avec le Ballet de Berne, le Ballet de Göteborg, le Ballet d’État de Géorgie, le StaatBallet de Hanovre, le Staattheater Wiesbaden et le Charlotte Ballet.

Il est régulièrement invité à donner des conférences et des ateliers dans les conservatoires et les festivals de danse des Pays-Bas, des États-Unis, de la Chine et de l’Italie.

Menu