May 20, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Mary Longman | Cindy Moleski

Mary Longman

Passage: Who We Are and Where We Come From 

Mary Longman, AskiPiyewsiwiSkwew

Central Saskatchewan is the traditional territories of the Cree, Dene, Saulteaux, Metis and Sioux.

The rivers of Fort Qu’Appelle and Saskatchewan have been significant passages for travel, trade and cultural exchange for Indigenous people.

Today, the cultural exchange, immersion and blended families continues. In central Saskatchewan, the Saskatoon area is home to approximately 300,000 Indigenous and Metis people.

Indigenous and Metis people make up 16% of the population in Saskatchewan and is the second largest ethnic group, with Germans being the majority.

The work, ‘Passages: Who We Are, Where We Come From,’ honors several thousands of years of history of Indigenous traditional lands and cultural exchange, long before the dark legacy of the relatively recent forced colonial treaties and oppression.

To honor the history of Indigenous land, I call on the collective to decolonize semantics, delete colonial terms such as treaties, return to the words of traditional territories, to remind others and ourselves, of who we are and where we come from.

Mary Longman (Aski-Piyesiwiskwew) is an Artist and Art Historian who has been exhibiting her work nationally and internationally for nearly three decades. She works in many different mediums including mixed-media sculpture, installation, drawing, digital media and book illustration. Her works give visual representation to Indigenous perspective, challenging colonial power structures through personal narratives that contradict official settler histories. She was born in Fort Qu’Appelle and is a Saulteaux band member of Gordon First Nation.

Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa
Mary Longman | Cindy Moleski

Mary Longman

Passage: Who We Are and Where We Come From

Mary Longman, AskiPiyewsiwiSkwew

Le centre de la Saskatchewan est le territoire traditionnel des Cris, des Dénés, des Saulteux, des Métis et des Sioux.

Les rivières de Fort Qu’Appelle et de la Saskatchewan ont été des passages importants pour les déplacements, le commerce et les échanges culturels des peuples autochtones.

Aujourd’hui, les échanges culturels, l’immersion et les familles reconstituées se poursuivent. Dans le centre de la Saskatchewan, la région de Saskatoon abrite environ 300 000 Autochtones et Métis.

Les Autochtones et les Métis représentent 16 % de la population de la Saskatchewan et constituent le deuxième groupe ethnique le plus important, après les Allemands.

L’œuvre, intitulée  Passage: Who We Are and Where We Come From  rend hommage à plusieurs milliers d’années d’histoire de terres traditionnelles autochtones et d’échanges culturels, bien avant le sombre héritage relativement récent des traités coloniaux forcés et de l’oppression.

Pour rendre hommage au passé des terres autochtones, j’appelle le collectif à décoloniser la sémantique, à supprimer les termes coloniaux tels que les traités, à revenir aux mots des territoires traditionnels, pour rappeler aux autres et à nous-mêmes qui nous sommes et d’où nous venons.

Mary Longman (Aski-Piyesiwiskwew) est une artiste et historienne de l’art qui expose ses œuvres au niveau national et international depuis près de trois décennies. Elle travaille dans de nombreux médiums différents, notamment la sculpture mixte, l’installation, le dessin, les médias numériques et l’illustration de livres. Ses œuvres donnent une représentation visuelle de la perspective autochtone, remettant en question les structures du pouvoir colonial par le biais de récits personnels qui contredisent les histoires officielles des colonisateurs. Elle est née à Fort Qu’Appelle et est membre de la bande des Saulteux de la Première Nation de Gordon.

Menu