Margo Kane |

Margo Kane

Cree-Saulteaux performing artist, Margo Kane is the Founder and Artistic Managing Director of Full Circle: First Nations Performance. For over 40 years she has been active as an actor, performing artist and community cultural worker.  Her desire to share artistic performance that has meaning for her people is the catalyst for her extensive work, travels and consultation within Indigenous communities across Canada and abroad.

Moonlodge, her acclaimed one-woman show, an Indigenous Canadian classic, toured for over 10 years nationally and internationally. The Sydney Press (AU) during The Festival of the Dreaming praised it as being ‘in the top echelon of solo performance.’  She developed and runs the annual Talking Stick Festival and an Aboriginal Ensemble Performing Arts Program in Vancouver.  Presently she is the Artistic Director for the City of Vancouver’s Canada150+ Festival, The Drum is Calling.

Recent theatre credits include reprising her role in Marie Clement’s Burning Vision in Barcelona for the Grec Theatre Festival. In 2016, she received an Honorary Doctorate of Letters from the University of the Fraser Valley, a  Mayor’s Arts Award in Theatre in Vancouver and most recently a 2017 GVPTA Career Achievement Award at the annual Jessie Theatre Awards in Vancouver.

Menu

Margo Kane |

Margo Kane

Artiste de la scène descendante des Cris et des Saulteux, Margo Kane est la fondatrice et directrice artistique de Full Circle: First Nations Performance. Elle travaille depuis plus de 40 ans comme actrice, interprète et travailleuse culturelle dans le milieu communautaire. Son désir de créer une œuvre qui résonne auprès de son peuple est à la source de ses nombreux voyages et de son travail intensif de collaboration et de consultation auprès des communautés autochtones du Canada et du monde.

Son spectacle solo Moonlodge, acclamé par la critique — pendant le Festival of the Dreaming, la presse australienne l’a décrit comme « la crème des spectacles solos » —, est un classique du théâtre autochtone canadien et a passé plus de dix ans en tournée au pays et à l’étranger. Margo Kane dirige le festival annuel Talking Stick et le programme Aboriginal Ensemble Performing Arts, qu’elle a tous deux fondés à Vancouver. Elle est actuellement la directrice artistique de The Drum is Calling, festival organisé dans le cadre des activités Canada 150 de la ville de Vancouver.

Au théâtre, elle a récemment repris son rôle dans la pièce Burning Vision de Marie Clements au Festival grec de Barcelone. En 2016, elle a reçu un doctorat honorifique en littérature de l’Université de la Vallée du Fraser et le Prix du maire de Vancouver pour le théâtre. La Greater Vancouver Professional Theatre Alliance lui a par ailleurs décerné le Prix pour une carrière exceptionnelle de 2017 lors de la cérémonie de remise annuelle des prix Jessie à Vancouver. 

Menu