|
violin

Manuela Milani

Born in Jonquière, Québec, Manuela Milani joined the National Arts Centre Orchestra in 1998. In addition she has been concertmaster of Thirteen Strings since 2004.

She was awarded a First Prize by the Conservatoire de musique du Québec where her teachers were Jean-François Rivest in Chicoutimi and Sonia Jelinková in Montreal. With a grant from the Quebec Arts Council, she studied with Sylvia Rosenberg both at the Manhattan School of Music in New York and at Indiana University, where she also studied baroque violin with Stanley Ritchie. She was awarded a special mention at the Prix d’Europe 1993. As the winner of the Janácek prize at the 1993 Montreal Czech and Slovak music competition, she was invited to perform recitals in Prague, Brno and Bratislava. She was concertmaster of the National Youth Orchestra in 1990 and assistant concertmaster of the Jeunesses Musicales’s World Youth Orchestra in 1991. She was a member of the Barcelona Symphony Orchestra from 1995 to 1998.

An avid chamber musician, Manuela Milani can be heard regularly on CBC Radio and Radio-Canada. She has performed at major festivals including Festival de Lanaudière, Rendez-vous musicale de Laterrière, Festival of the Sound and the Ottawa International Chamber Music Festival. She recorded Haydn’s Seven last words of Christ for the Ottawa Chamber Music Society and two CDS for the Atma label with the Chamber Players of Canada.

Manuela Milani plays a 1785 J & A Gagliano violin on loan to her from the Zukerman Musical Instruments Foundation for the NAC Orchestra. The Gagliano was donated to the Foundation by NACOA (now Friends of the NAC Orchestra).

Menu

|
violon

Manuela Milani

Née à Jonquière au Québec, Manuela Milani a joint les rangs de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts en 1998. Elle est également violon solo de l’ensemble Thirteen Strings depuis 2004.

Premier prix du Conservatoire de musique du Québec, Mme Milani a étudié à Chicoutimi avec Jean-François Rivest et à Montréal avec Sonia Jelinková. Boursière du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, elle a poursuivi ses études auprès de Sylvia Rosenberg à la Manhattan School of Music et à l’Université de l’Indiana où elle a également travaillé le violon baroque avec Stanley Ritchie. Elle a obtenu une mention spéciale au Prix d’Europe 1993. La même année, lauréate du Prix Janacek au Concours de musique tchèque et slovaque de Montréal, elle a été invitée à faire une tournée de récitals à Prague, Brno et Bratislava. Elle a été violon solo de l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada en 1990 et violon solo assistant de l’Orchestre mondial des Jeunesses Musicales en 1991. De 1995 à 1998, elle a été membre de l’Orchestre symphonique de Barcelone.

Chambriste dynamique, Manuela Milani joue régulièrement sur les ondes de Radio-Canada et de la CBC. Elle s’est produite dans le cadre de plusieurs festivals, dont le Festival de Lanaudière, le Rendez-vous musical de Laterrière, le Festival of the Sound et le Festival international de musique de chambre d’Ottawa. Elle a enregistré les Sept dernières paroles du Christ de Haydn pour la Société de musique de chambre d’Ottawa ainsi que deux CD avec les Chambristes du Canada, parus sous étiquette ATMA.

Mme Milani joue sur un violon J & A Gagliano de 1785, prêt de la Fondation Zukerman pour l'acquisition d'instruments de musique destinés à l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts. La Fondation a reçu l’instrument en donation de l’Association de l’Orchestre du CNA (maintenant les Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA).

Menu