April 8, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Lucia Caruso | Elias Wessel
Composer Pianist

Lucia Caruso

Argentina

LUCÍA CARUSO

Lucía Caruso is an Argentinean composer and pianist based in New York City, whose numerous awards include the 2015 and 2016 ASCAP Plus Award and two composition residencies: with the Sorel Foundation and composer in residence of Orchestra of the Swan in Stratford-upon-Avon, U.K.

Caruso is the Artistic Director of the Manhattan Camerata, an innovative chamber orchestra, which she co-founded with Pedro H. da Silva. This is the first ensemble to perform Transclassical music, a term created by Lucia to define their unique style of composition, characterized by its grounded classical technique that incorporates improvisation and elements from a variety of cultures and world instruments in a range of styles and genres. The Manhattan Camerata most recently won Best Instrumental Performance at the prestigious 2017 International Portuguese Music Awards.

Her musical career has taken her across four continents and over a dozen countries. She has performed at some of the most prestigious venues in the world including the Versailles Palace; the Louvre Museum; and Jardin des Tuileries in Paris, France; Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall, Vanderbilt Hall at the Grand Central Station in New York City; Kennedy Center in Washington DC; and the Kew Royal Palace in London.

Caruso also performed her works for piano and orchestra as a soloist with the Orchestre Lamoureux in Paris and the London Metropolitan Orchestra in the UK. Several of Caruso’s chamber and orchestral compositions were recorded in London at Abbey Road Studios by the London Metropolitan Orchestra.

She was commissioned a ballet by the José Limón Dance Company. In April 2016 she premiered her composition Titania’s Lullaby for orchestra and choir for Shakespeare 400 Memorial at his church, the Holy Trinity Church of Stratford-upon-Avon, UK.

Caruso is scheduled to record her new piano concerto “Light and Wind” with the Academy of St. Martin in the Fields at the Abbey Road Studios in London in July 2019.

Caruso received her bachelor’s degree in classical piano from the Manhattan School of Music, and her Master's Degree in Composition and Film-Scoring from New York University with renowned film composer Ira Newborn (Naked Gun, Ace Ventura, Ferris Bueller's Day Off).

Menu

Lucia Caruso | Elias Wessel
Compositrice Pianiste

Lucia Caruso

Argentine

LUCÍA CARUSO

Lucía Caruso est une compositrice et pianiste argentine basée à New York, dont les nombreuses récompenses comprennent le prix ASCAP Plus 2015 et 2016 et deux résidences de composition : avec la Fondation Sorel et comme compositrice en résidence de Orchestra of the Swan à Stratford-upon-Avon, au Royaume-Uni.

Caruso est la directrice artistique de la Manhattan Camerata, un orchestre de chambre novateur, qu’elle a cofondé avec Pedro H. da Silva. C’est le premier ensemble à interpréter de la musique transclassique, un terme créé par Lucia pour définir leur style de composition unique, caractérisé par sa technique classique ancrée qui incorpore l’improvisation et des éléments de diverses cultures et divers instruments du monde dans un éventail de styles et de genres. La Manhattan Camerata a récemment remporté le prix de la meilleure interprétation instrumentale lors des prestigieux International Portuguese Music Awards 2017.

Sa carrière musicale l’a menée à travers quatre continents et plus d’une douzaine de pays. Elle s’est produite dans certains des lieux les plus prestigieux du monde, notamment au château de Versailles, au Musée du Louvre et au Jardin des Tuileries à Paris, au Weill Recital Hall de Carnegie Hall, au Vanderbilt Hall de Grand Central Station à New York, au Kennedy Center à Washington et au Kew Royal Palace à Londres.

Caruso a également joué ses œuvres pour piano et orchestre en tant que soliste avec l’Orchestre Lamoureux à Paris et le London Metropolitan Orchestra au Royaume-Uni. Plusieurs de ses compositions pour orchestre et chambre ont été enregistrées à Londres, aux studios Abbey Road, par le London Metropolitan Orchestra.

Elle a reçu une commande de ballet de la Compagnie de danse José Limón. En avril 2016, elle a présenté sa composition Titania’s Lullaby for orchestra and choir pour le Shakespeare 400 Memorial dans son église, la Holy Trinity Church de Stratford-upon-Avon, au Royaume-Uni.

Caruso doit enregistrer son nouveau concerto pour piano Light and Wind avec l’Academy of St. Martin in the Fields aux studios d’Abbey Road à Londres en juillet 2019.

Caruso a obtenu son baccalauréat en piano classique à la Manhattan School of Music, et sa maîtrise en composition et en musique de film à l’Université de New York avec le célèbre compositeur de musique pour films Ira Newborn (Naked Gun, Ace Ventura, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off).

Menu