|
Fourth Horn

Louis-Pierre Bergeron

Since October 2017, Louis-Pierre Bergeron is the proud 4th horn of the National Arts Centre Orchestra.  Previously, he was 3rd horn with Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, 2nd horn with Orchestre Métropolitain, and solo horn with Orchestre symphonique de Trois-Rivières.  He still collaborates frequently with Les Violons du Roy, in Québec City.  In Mars 2020, he will be soloist in Ferdinand Ries’ Concerto for two horns, with Louis-Philippe Marsolais and I Musici de Montréal.

Louis-Pierre studied with John Zirbel at McGill University and at the Aspen Music Festival and School, and the natural horn with Teunis van der Zwart at the Amsterdam Conservatory.  An avid champion of the natural horn, he performed and recorded with prestigious early music ensembles, notably the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra, Tafelmusik and Europa Galante.

Equally active in pop music, Louis-Pierre Bergeron founded in 2015 the Montreal Horn Stars, a brass quintet for which he is also arranger.  The group collaborates with artists such as Patrick Watson, Bernard Adamus, Louis-Jean Cormier and Klô Pelgag.  They performed at the Montreal Jazz Festival, at Francofolies de Montréal and at Festival d’été de Québec.

Louis-Pierre gives educational concerts with his woodwind quintet Ayorama, and for senior residents of healthcare establishments with Moon Palace, the duo he forms with his partner, the NACO cellist Julia MacLaine. 

As hobbies, Louis-Pierre practices hockey, cross-country skying and cyclo-touring.  He collects music records and old instruments. 

Menu

|
4e cor

Louis-Pierre Bergeron

Depuis octobre 2017, Louis-Pierre Bergeron est le fier 4ème cor de l'Orchestre du Centre National des Arts.  Il était auparavant 3ème cor à l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, 2ème cor à l'Orchestre Métropolitain, et cor solo à l'Orchestre symphonique de Trois-Rivières. Il collabore encore régulièrement avec les Violons du Roy.  En mars 2020, il sera soliste dans le Concerto pour deux cors de Ferdinand Ries, avec Louis-Philippe Marsolais et I Musici de Montréal.

Louis-Pierre a étudié auprès de Teunis van der Zwart au Conservatoire d'Amsterdam, et avec John Zirbel à l'Université McGill et au Aspen Music Festival and School.  Ardent défenseur du cor naturel, il a joué et enregistré avec de prestigieux ensembles de musique ancienne, notamment le Freiburger Barockorchester, Tafelmusik et Europa Galante. 

Il est également actif dans la pop; en 2015, il formait le Montréal Horn Stars, un quintette de cuivres pour lequel il est aussi arrangeur.  Le groupe collabore avec des artistes tels Patrick Watson, Bernard Adamus, Louis-Jean Cormier et Klô Pelgag.  On a pu les entendre au Festival de Jazz de Montréal, aux Francofolies de Montréal et au Festival d’été de Québec.

Il donne des concerts éducatifs dans les écoles primaires de la région avec son quintette à vents Ayorama, et pour les aînés dans les centres de soins de santé avec le duo Moon Palace qu’il a fondé avec sa conjointe, la violoncelliste de l’OCNA Julia MacLaine.

Dans ses temps libres, Louis-Pierre pratique le hockey, le ski de fond et le cyclotourisme.  Il possède une belle collection de disques vinyles et d’instruments anciens.

Menu