Lindsay Lachance |

Lindsay Lachance

Dr. Lindsay Lachance is honoured and very proud to be the Artistic Associate of Indigenous Theatre at the National Arts Centre. Lindsay is from an Algonquin Anishinabe and settler Canadian family and has loved storytelling and theatre from a young age. She earned a PhD in Theatre from the University of British Columbia and in January 2018 successfully defended her dissertation titled “The Embodied Politics of Relational Indigenous Dramaturgies.” Lindsay’s academic work exists at the intersections of Indigenous Theatre and Critical Indigenous Studies, where she celebrates and supports Indigenous theatre art and artists. Her dissertation explores Indigenous approaches to developing Indigenous theatre, as practiced by her in her dramaturgical processes with Indigenous and non-Indigenous theatre artists and students. Lindsay works as a dramaturg, supporting new play development, through a practice that centers the knowledges, skills and gifts of her collaborators that honours each process. She has published articles, shared her ideas at various conferences and offered responses to performances she has witnessed.

Lindsay has developed and taught courses in both First Nations & Indigenous Studies and Theatre Studies at the University of British Columbia and at Simon Fraser University. She is the first in her family to have attended university and she recognizes both the privileges and difficulties in attending post-secondary institutions. So in the classroom, in workshops and in her everyday actions, Lindsay practices and presences the 7 Sacred Teachings of the Anishinabeg as a way to ensure good relationships with those she is involved with. Lindsay has been working with youth for over 15 years at summer camps, community centres, The Native Youth Program at the UBC Museum of Anthropology and the Indigenous Youth Residency Program at the Art Gallery of Ontario.  She has participated at events hosted by The National Arts Centre, The PuSh Festival, Indigenous Performing Arts Alliance, the Audain Gallery at SFU, Carleton University and The Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas Association.

Lindsay is a granddaughter, a daughter, a niece, a cousin, a sister, an auntie and a partner. She honours the gifts, offerings and teachings that Indigenous women before her have offered and is motivated to honour and support the next generation of leaders.

Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août
Lindsay Lachance |
Théâtre autochtone, collaboratrice artistique Algonquine anishinaabe

Dre Lindsay Lachance

Dre Lindsay Lachance est fière et heureuse d’être associée artistique au département du Théâtre autochtone du Centre national des Arts. D’origine algonquine/anishinaabe et d’ascendance canadienne mixte, Lindsay s’est intéressée au théâtre et à l’art du récit dès son plus jeune âge. Elle a soutenu sa thèse de doctorat intitulée The Embodied Politics of Relational Indigenous Dramaturgies (Les politiques corporelles de la dramaturgie autochtone relationnelle) en janvier 2018 à l’Université de Colombie-Britannique. Ses recherches se situent à la croisée des Études théâtrales et des Études autochtones et ont pour objectif à la fois de célébrer et de soutenir le théâtre autochtone et ses artisans. Sa thèse de doctorat explore en particulier la manière dont des approches traditionnelles autochtones peuvent contribuer au développement du théâtre autochtone, à partir de processus dramaturgiques qu’elle a elle-même mis en place avec des artistes et étudiants en théâtre, d’origine autochtone ou non. En tant que metteuse en scène, Lindsay soutient la création de nouvelles pièces de théâtre; elle favorise une pratique centrée sur les savoirs et les talents propres à chacun, pratique qui met en valeur chaque étape du processus créatif. Lindsay a en outre écrit des articles savants, participé à différents colloques et proposé des critiques de pièces de théâtre qu’elle a vues.

Lindsay a enseigné des cours en Études autochtones et en Théâtre à l’Université de Colombie-Britannique et à l’Université Simon Fraser. Première à avoir étudié à l’université dans sa famille, elle est tout à fait consciente que les études postsecondaires constituent un privilège, mais aussi un défi. En ce sens, Lindsay pratique les 7 enseignements sacrés des Anishinaabe (savoir, amour, respect, courage, honnêteté, humilité et vérité), afin d’établir de bons rapports avec toutes les personnes qu’elle côtoie dans sa vie quotidienne comme dans les ateliers et cours qu’elle donne. En outre, Lindsay travaille avec les jeunes depuis une quinzaine d’années comme animatrice de camps d’été, d’ateliers dans des centres communautaires, du Native Youth Program au Musée d’anthropologie de l’Université de Colombie-Britannique et du Indigenous Youth Residency Program de l’Art Gallery of Ontario. Elle a participé à différents événements organisés par le Centre national des Arts, le Festival PuSh, la Indigenous Performing Arts Alliance, le musée Audain de l’Université Simon Fraser, l’Université Carleton et l’association des Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of Americas.

Lindsay est une petite-fille, une fille, une nièce, une cousine, une sœur, une tante et une partenaire. Elle rend hommage aux talents, savoirs et enseignements des femmes autochtones qui l’ont précédée et elle soutient les leaders de demain.

Menu