|
violin

Leah Roseman

Violinist Leah Roseman has been a member of the National Arts Centre Orchestra since 1997. In fact, she grew up in Ottawa, and was inspired by many concerts growing up. She studied for several years with NACO retired member Keiko Hutchenreuther, and then travelled to Montreal for lessons with the well-known violin pedagogue Mauricio Fuks. She completed her B.Mus. at McGill University in Violin Performance with High Distinction, and went on to Indiana University to complete her M.Mus. where she studied with Paul Biss, and baroque violin with Stanley Ritchie. She broadened her studies at many summer music festivals: Orford, Sarasota Music Festival, Encore, Tanglewood, Schleswig-Holstein, and the Soundfest Institute of String Quartets. She was a member of the Carmel Bach Festival Orchestra, the Orchestre Symphonique de Québec, and Les Violons du Roy before joining NACO. 

She’s always been active as a chamber music player, and teaching is one of the great joys of her life. In 2020 she started her YouTube channel ViolinLessonOnline as a way of posting videos for her students, and it’s now grown to over 1,000 videos organized into 60 playlists, for players of all levels (and their teachers). She regularly hosts free international violin masterclasses over Zoom to particpants all over the world, and also does presentations on teaching and practicing music. 

In 2021 she began a new creative chapter as the producer and host of the podcast and video series “Conversations with Musicians with Leah Roseman”, which features in-depth conversations with a wide range of musicians talking about their lives and careers, with perspectives on overcoming challenges, and finding inspiration and connection through a life so enriched by music. Guests have included James Ehnes, Kerson Leong, Christopher Millard,Lynn Kuo, Carissa Klopoushak, Yosuke Kawasaki, Kirsty Money, Patty Chan, Alexis Chartrand, Aaron Schwebel, Roddy Ellias, Ellen Waterman, Subhadra Vijaykumar, Alicia Svigals, Veronica Thomas, Arna Einarsdóttir, Theo Marks, Eva Slongo, Sophie Lukacs, Kellylee Evans, Megan Jerome, Rachel Mercer, Gina Burgess, Jack Everly, Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser, Hooshyar Khayam, Josh “Socalled” Dolgin and Megan Jerome.

Menu

violon

Leah Roseman

Dernière mise à jour: 11 mars 2024

La violoniste Leah Roseman est membre de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts depuis 1997. Elle a grandi à Ottawa, où les nombreux concerts auxquelles elle a assisté l’ont beaucoup inspirée. Elle a étudié pendant plusieurs années auprès de Keiko Hutchenreuther, musicien retraité de l’OCNA, puis avec le célèbre professeur de violon, Mauricio Fuks, à Montréal. Elle est titulaire d’un B.Mus. spécialisé en interprétation (violon) avec haute distinction de l’Université McGill, et d’une maîtrise en musique de l’Université de l’Indiana, où elle a étudié auprès de Paul Biss et de Stanley Ritchie (violon baroque). Elle a poursuivi sa formation dans le cadre de nombreux festivals de musique d’été, dont ceux d’Orford, de Sarasota et de Tanglewood, au Festival de musique de chambre ENCORE, au Festival de musique Schleswig-Holstein et au Soundfest Institute of String Quartets. Avant de se joindre à l’OCNA, elle a été membre du Carmel Bach Festival Orchestra, de l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec et des Violons du Roy.

Leah Roseman a toujours été très active comme chambriste, et l’enseignement est pour elle une grande source de joie. En 2020, elle a créé sa chaîne YouTube, ViolinLessonOnline, pour pouvoir mettre en ligne des vidéos destinées à ses élèves – la chaîne comprend maintenant plus de 1 000 vidéos, divisées en 60 listes de lecture, pour les musiciens et musiciennes de tout niveau, ainsi que pour la personne qui leur enseigne. Elle anime régulièrement des classes de maître de violon gratuites, diffusées partout dans le monde sur Zoom, et donne des présentations sur l’enseignement et la pratique de la musique.

En 2021, elle s’est lancée dans une nouvelle aventure créative en tant que productrice et animatrice de la série de vidéos et de balados Conversations with Musicians with Leah Roseman [en anglais seulement], qui présente des discussions approfondies avec des artistes de diverses spécialités, qui y parlent de leur vie et de leur carrière, des défis qu’ils ont relevés, de leurs sources d’inspiration et de leurs rapports au monde. Elle a également fait le portrait de plusieurs membres de l’Orchestre du CNA et d’autres musiciennes et musiciens associés au CNA, dont Jack Everly, Karen Donnelly, Yosuke Kawasaki, Carissa Klopoushak, Rachel Mercer, Anna Petersen, Fred Moisan, Jeremy Mastrangelo, Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser et tant d’autres. À ce jour, plus de 100 épisodes sont à découvrir.

Événements

  1. Gratuit En personne
    Collected Strands

    Sur l’heure du midi, apportez votre dîner et profitez d’une heure de musique en compagnie de Collected Strands à l’Atrium O’Brien. Collected Strands est un ensemble de musique de chambre composé de quatre…

Médias du CNA avec Leah Roseman