Headshot of Kevin Loring ©
Artistic Director, Indigenous Theatre Nlaka'pamux nation, B.C.

Kevin Loring

Nlaka'pamux Nation, B.C.

Last updated: September 23, 2022

Kevin Loring is an accomplished Canadian playwright, actor and director and was the winner of the Governor General’s Award for English Language Drama for his outstanding play, Where the Blood Mixes in 2009. The play explores the intergenerational effects of the residential school system. It toured nationally and was presented at the National Arts Centre in 2010, when Loring was serving as the NAC’s Playwright in Residence.

A Nlaka’pamux from the Lytton First Nation in British Columbia, Loring created the Songs of the Land project in 2012 in partnership with five separate organizations in his home community. The project explores 100-year-old audio recordings of songs and stories of the N’lakap’amux People. Loring has written two new plays based on his work with the community including Battle of the Birds, about domestic violence and power abuse, and The Boy Who Was Abandoned, about youth and elder neglect.

A versatile artist and leader Loring has served as the co-curator of the Talking Stick Festival, as Artist in Residence at the Vancouver Playhouse Theatre, as Artistic Director of the Savage Society in Vancouver, as a Documentary Producer of Canyon War: The Untold Story, and as the Project Leader/Creator, and Director of the Songs of the Land project in his home community of Lytton First Nation.

Upcoming events

  1. From director and Governor General’s Award-winning playwright Kevin Loring of the Nlaka’pamux Nation comes a wickedly funny satire about power, politics, … read more

Projects & initiatives

  • Testing alt © Mariah Meawasige Makoose

    #ReconcileThis

    #ReconcileThis is a social media initiative to uplift and amplify Indigenous voices online by activating and sharing stories, languages, cultures and perspectives through provocative digital performances and conversations. 

  • Adult-book-club little-red-warrior kevin-loring Episode 4

    Little Red Warrior and His Lawyer

    Indigenous Theatre Artistic Director and award-winning playwright Kevin Loring is joined in conversation with Deneh’Cho Thompson about his latest play Little Red Warrior and His Lawyer.

  • Mary-longman-indigenous-cities-saskatoon-2021 card © Mary Longman explore

    Indigenous Cities | The stories here.

    A unique audio storytelling experience based on memories from Indigenous community members interpreted by Indigenous artists. 

NAC media featuring Kevin Loring

Menu

Portrait de Kevin Loring ©
Directeur artistique, Théâtre autochtone Nlaka'pamux nation, B.C.

Kevin Loring

Nlaka'pamux Nation, B.C.

Dernière mise à jour: 23 septembre 2022

Dramaturge, acteur et professeur canadien accompli, M. Loring a remporté le Prix du Gouverneur général pour la dramaturgie de langue anglaise, en 2009, pour sa pièce remarquable intitulée Where the Blood Mixes. L’œuvre se penche sur les effets intergénérationnels du régime des pensionnats autochtones. La pièce a été présentée en tournée dans tout le pays, et notamment au Centre national des Arts en 2010 alors que M. Loring y était l’auteur dramatique en résidence.

Nlaka’pamux de la Première Nation Lytton en Colombie-Britannique, M. Loring a créé le projet Songs of the Land en 2012, en partenariat avec cinq organisations distinctes de sa collectivité natale. Cette initiative puise dans 100 ans d’enregistrements sonores des chants et récits du peuple N’lakap’amux. M. Loring a écrit deux nouvelles pièces basées sur ce travail avec la collectivité : Battle of the Birds, sur la violence familiale et l’abus de pouvoir, et The Boy Who Was Abandoned, sur la négligence à l’égard des jeunes et des aînés.

Artiste et leader polyvalent, Kevin Loring a œuvré comme coorganisateur du Talking Stick Festival, artiste résident au Vancouver Playhouse Theatre, directeur artistique de la Savage Society à Vancouver, producteur du documentaire Canyon War: The Untold Story, et fer de lance, créateur et directeur du projet Songs of the Land dans sa collectivité natale de la Première Nation Lytton.

Événements

  1. Kevin Loring, metteur en scène de la Nation Nlaka’pamux et dramaturge lauréat d’un Prix du Gouverneur général, nous livre une … plus

Projets et initiatives

  • FRENCH Testing alt © Mariah Meawasige Makoose

    #ReconcileThis

    #ReconcileThis est une initiative sur les médias sociaux qui vise à susciter une émulation et à amplifier les voix autochtones en ligne en mettant en lumière la diversité des récits, langues, cultures et perspectives grâce à des échanges et événements en ligne qui bousculent les codes. 

  • Épisode 4

    Little Red Warrior and His Lawyer

    Le directeur artistique du théâtre autochtone et dramaturge primé Kevin Loring est accompagné de Deneh’Cho Thompson pour parler de sa nouvelle pièce Little Red Warrior and His Lawyer.

  • explorer

    Cités autochtones

    Une expérience auditive unique vous offrant des souvenirs de membres de communautés autochtones interprétés par des artistes autochtones.

Médias du CNA avec Kevin Loring

Menu