Kenneth Simpson |
percussion

Kenneth Simpson

Kenneth Simpson, a native of Ottawa, obtained a Bachelor of Music in Performance from the University of Ottawa in 1985 under the guidance of Ian Bernard, Timpanist of the National Arts Centre Orchestra. Further study continued over a long period with renowned teacher/performer Pierre Beluse of McGill University in Montreal.

As a student, Mr. Simpson won the prestigious NACO Bursary Award in 1983, as well as the Isobel Firestone Scholarship at the University of Ottawa in 1984.

Mr. Simpson was engaged as Percussionist of the National Arts Centre Orchestra, Principal Percussion of the Ottawa Symphony Orchestra and as Professor of Percussion at the University of Ottawa until his retirement in 2021.

Also very active in chamber music, Kenneth made several appearances on the NAC’s Music for a Sunday Afternoon, the Ottawa International Chamber Music Festival, Music and Beyond, and was a member of the Capital Brass Works.

Through the NAC, Mr. Simpson was very involved with Music in the Schools as part of the Percussion Duo "Bangers and Smash" and as clinician. He currently sits on the Board of Directors for the Kiwanis Music Festival, and is an endorser for Zildjian Cymbals in Boston, Mass.

Menu

|
percussion

Kenneth Simpson

Originaire d’Ottawa, Kenneth Simpson a obtenu en 1985 un baccalauréat en musique avec spécialisation en interprétation de l’Université d’Ottawa sous la direction d’Ian Bernard, timbalier de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts. Il a poursuivi pendant longtemps des études avec le réputé professeur et interprète Pierre Beluse, de l’Université McGill.

Il a remporté en 1983 le prestigieux prix de la Bourse de l’Orchestre du CNA et, l’année suivante, la bourse Isobel Firestone de l’Université d’Ottawa en 1984.

Il est percussionniste à l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, percussion solo de l’Orchestre symphonique d’Ottawa et professeur de percussion à l’Université d’Ottawa.

Très actif également en musique de chambre, il s’est produit à plusieurs reprises dans le cadre de la série du CNA Musique pour un dimanche après-midi, du ChamberFest d’Ottawa et du festival Musique et autres mondes; il est par ailleurs membre de l’ensemble Capital BrassWorks.

M. Simpson est très engagé dans le programme Musiciens dans les écoles du CNA, comme membre du duo de percussion Bangers and Smash et comme instructeur. Il assure également de son appui le groupe Zildjian Cymbals de Boston, au Massachusetts.

Menu