October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Kathryn Patricia Cobbler |

Kathryn Patricia Cobbler

Hailing from Canada’s Capital region, Loop pedal violist, composer, and arranger Kathryn Patricia Cobbler has crafted a singular niche in improvisation and classical performance. She obsesses over creating uniquely arresting soundscapes, whether in solo recitals, composing for theatre, performing in site specific art installations, and more. Recognized as an in-demand artist, she has been featured in the Ottawa region’s most notable Concert Series, including Music & Beyond, Shenkman Arts Centre, Music at Southminster, and Ottawa New Music Creators’ Analogue Series to name a few.

As a seasoned workshop facilitator and educator, Kathryn is proud to be on the MASC Artist roster and a performance instructor at Carleton University. She has also been known to collaborate with other composers, and artists of multiple disciplines, premiering pieces by Canadian composers Mika Posen, and Raphael Weinroth-Browne. Most recently Kathryn Patricia was artist-in-residence with the Ottawa Dance Directive composing and collaborating for the premiere of Dream & True North envisioned and choreographed by Elizabeth Emond-Stevenson.

After switching to music as her artistic path from visual arts, she would receive degrees in viola performance from Western University (B.M.) and the University of Ottawa (M.M.). A native of Windsor, Ontario, she makes her home in Ottawa. She performs on a viola by luthier, Sibylle Ruppert and a Boss RC-30 loop pedal.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 21 septembre 2021.
Kathryn Patricia Cobbler |

Kathryn Patricia Cobbler

Résidant dans la région de la capitale nationale, Kathryn Patricia Cobbler est une altiste, artiste de la pédale de boucle, compositrice et arrangeuse qui s’est taillé une place dans le monde de l’improvisation et de l’interprétation classique. Elle crée méticuleusement des environnements sonores uniques des plus frappants aussi bien pour des récitals solos que pour la scène et les installations contextuelles dans lesquelles elle se produit. On a pu voir cette artiste réputée et recherchée dans diverses séries de concerts de la région d’Ottawa, y compris à Musique et autres mondes, au Centre des arts Shenkman, à Musique à Southminster et à Analogue (série de musique nouvelle).

Pédagogue et animatrice d’ateliers aguerrie, Kathryn est fière de faire partie des artistes de MASC et du corps professoral en interprétation de l’Université Carleton. Elle collabore avec des compositeurs et artistes de diverses disciplines, et a créé des œuvres des compositeurs canadiens Mika Posen et Raphael Weinroth-Browne. À titre d’artiste en résidence au Centre de danse contemporaine d’Ottawa, elle a récemment composé la musique de Dream & True North, créé et chorégraphié par Elizabeth Emond-Stevenson, et participé à la première du spectacle.

Après des études en arts visuels, Kathryn est passée à l’alto (B. Mus., Université Western et M. Mus, Université d’Ottawa). Originaire de Windsor et résidant maintenant à Ottawa, Kathryn Patricia Cobbler se produit sur scène avec un alto de la luthière Sibylle Ruppert et une pédale de boucle Boss RC-30.

Menu