May 20, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
 |

Katharine Fountain

Canada

Katharine Fountain is an electronic producer, singer and songwriter. Releasing music under the name FOUNTAINS, Katharine specializes in creating sounds that she describes as being “ethereal, melodic, and sprinkled with a touch of nostalgia.” Her preferred tools of the trade include Ableton Live, Avid Pro Tools and her beloved Mojave MA-200 condenser microphone.

Katharine began performing in Montreal, QC as a self-accompanied singer-songwriter while she was a student at McGill University (B.Comm, 2014). From there, she went on to be accepted as a vocalist at Berklee College of Music in Boston, MA where she majored in Electronic Production & Design, and Songwriting. As a student, Katharine completed internships at both Q Department Studios (NYC), and Mmmmaven Electronic Music Production & DJ School (Cambridge, MA). She was an attendee at Ableton’s Loop Summit for Music Makers (Berlin, Germany 2016/2017, Los Angeles, CA 2018) as well as Berklee’s Nashville Student Retreat (2016), and Voltage Connect Conference in Boston (2019). She received the Suzanne Ciani Award & Scholarship from Berklee College of Music in 2018. Katharine graduated summa cum laude with her Bachelor of Music in 2019.

Following her graduation, she moved to New York City to focus on refining the catalogue of work she had amassed throughout her time as a student. Her debut single, “Breathe”, was released in December 2019. Katharine is currently based in Halifax, Nova Scotia, where she continues to focus on her solo career. 

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 20 mai 2021.
 |

Katharine Fountain

Canada

Katharine Fountain est une productrice de musique électronique et une auteure-compositrice-interprète. Publiant sa musique sous le nom de FOUNTAINS, elle se spécialise dans la création de sons qu’elle décrit comme « éthérés, mélodieux, et saupoudrés d’une pincée de nostalgie ». Ses outils de prédilection sont le séquenceur Ableton Live, le logiciel Avid Pro Tools et son indispensable microphone à condensateur Mojave MA-200.

Elle a commencé à se produire à Montréal comme auteure-compositrice-interprète en s’accompagnant elle-même alors qu’elle étudiait à l’Université McGill (baccalauréat en commerce, 2014). Par la suite, elle a été admise comme chanteuse au Berklee College of Music de Boston (Massachussetts) où elle s’est spécialisée en production et conception de musique électronique, et en écriture de chansons. Pendant ses études, elle a effectué des stages aux Q Department Studios (New York) ainsi qu’à la Mmmmaven Electronic Music Production & DJ School (Cambridge, Massachussetts). Elle a participé à l’Ableton Loop Summit for Music Makers (Berlin, Allemagne, 2016-2017; Los Angeles, Californie, 2018) de même qu’à la Nashville Student Retreat du collège Berklee (2016), et à la Voltage Connect Conference à Boston (2019). Elle a reçu le prix Suzanne Ciani, assorti d’une bourse d’études, du Berklee College of Music en 2018. Elle a obtenu son baccalauréat en musique « avec grande distinction » (summa cum laude) en 2019.

Fraîchement diplômée, elle a déménagé à New York pour se consacrer à étoffer le répertoire qu’elle avait accumulé pendant ses études. Son premier titre, « Breathe », a paru en décembre 2019. Elle vit présentement à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, où elle continue à se concentrer sur sa carrière de soliste.

Menu