October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Kate Smith |

Kate Smith

Kate Smith is the Artistic Director of Skeleton Key Theatre, an Ottawa-based company that creates immersive theatrical experiences. Smith originally trained as an actor and singer (Dalhousie University) and has performed on stages across the country for over 15 years. She is also an award-winning theatre creator, taking home multiple awards for Smith & Somers’ dark musical comedy HOOTENANNY!, which toured across Canada in 2017.

Her work with Skeleton Key has been presented at the Shenkman Arts Centre, the Ottawa International Children’s Festival, the Magnetic North Theatre Festival, the In The Soil Festival, the undercurrents festival, the Fresh Meat Festival, and all iterations of site-specific theatrical event subDevision.

In 2017, the company was awarded a New Chapter grant through the Canada Council for the Arts for its innovative outdoor multidisciplinary ambulatory piece Swan River, and the show was later nominated for a Prix Rideau Award for Best New Creation. Smith also serves as Artistic Manager of the Ottawa StoryTellers. She is a Member of the Playwrights Guild of Canada. 

Menu

Perturbations à la circulation - Fête du Canada
Kate Smith | Andrew Alexander

Kate Smith

Kate Smith est la directrice artistique de Skeleton Key Theatre, une compagnie d’Ottawa qui crée des expériences théâtrales immersives. Smith a d’abord été formée comme comédienne et chanteuse (Dalhousie University) et se produit sur des scènes à travers le pays depuis plus de 15 ans. Elle est également une créatrice de théâtre primée, qui a remporté de nombreux prix pour la comédie musicale d’humour noir HOOTENANNY! de Smith & Somers, qui a sillonné le Canada en 2017.

Son travail avec Skeleton Key a été présenté au Centre des arts Shenkman, au Festival de la jeunesse d’Ottawa, au festival de théâtre Magnetic North, au festival In The Soil, au festival undercurrents, au festival Fresh Meat, et à chaque édition de l’événement théâtral sur le terrain subDevision.

En 2017, la compagnie a reçu une subvention du programme Nouveau chapitre du Conseil des arts du Canada pour son œuvre ambulante extérieure pluridisciplinaire innovatrice Swan River, et le spectacle a par la suite été finaliste aux Prix Rideau comme meilleure nouvelle création. Smith est également gestionnaire artistique des Ottawa StoryTellers, et membre de la Playwrights Guild of Canada.

Menu