|
violin

Karoly Sziladi

Born in Hungary, Karoly Sziladi began violin lessons at the age of five with Béla Lukás, Assistant Conductor of the Budapest Opera House Orchestra. In October of 1956 during the Hungarian Revolution, Karoly, along with his parents and one sister emigrated to Canada and settled in Kingston, Ontario.

Following his high school graduation, Karoly received a full three-year scholarship to the University of Toronto Faculty of Music. In 1967 Karoly received his Artist Diploma with Honours. Karoly was on the staff of the Royal College of Music in Hamilton while playing in the Philharmonic Orchestra, as well as teaching the Suzuki Method which he acquired in the Edmonton Suzuki school. Karoly was a member of the National Youth Orchestra of Canada for three wonderful, unforgettable summers.

In 1969 Karoly joined the National Arts Centre Orchestra as one of its founding members. He is married to Judith and they have two children, Karoly Jr. and Emma, and one granddaughter through Emma. He taught violin to both his children for 15 years. Karoly Jr. plays as an extra violinist in the NAC Orchestra along with his father, something Karoly Sr. is extremely proud of.

For the 50th anniversary of the Hungary Revolution, Karoly Sziladi was one of 50 eminent Hungarian-Canadians honoured in a photo exhibit by Tony Hauser.

Menu

|
violon

Karoly Sziladi

Originaire de la Hongrie, Karoly Sziladi commence à étudier le violon à l'âge de cinq ans avec Béla Lukás, chef d'orchestre adjoint de l'orchestre de l'opéra de Budapest. En octobre 1956, pendant la Révolution hongroise, il émigre au Canada avec ses parents et une soeur, et la famille s'établit à Kingston, en Ontario.

Après ses études secondaires, Karoly Sziladi reçoit une bourse de trois ans de la Faculté de musique de l'Université de Toronto, où il obtient son diplôme d'artiste avec distinction en 1967. Il enseigne au Royal College of Music à Hamilton tout en jouant dans l'orchestre philharmonique de cette même ville, et enseigne également la méthode Suzuki, qu'il a apprise à l'école Suzuki d'Edmonton. Il passe trois merveilleux étés avec l'Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada.  

En 1969, M. Sziladi se joint à l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts à titre de membre fondateur. Sa femme Judith et lui ont deux enfants, Karoly Jr. et Emma, à qui il enseigne le violon pendant 15 ans. Karoly Jr. est d'ailleurs violoniste suppléant à l'Orchestre du CNA, aux côtés de son père, ce dont ce dernier est très fier. Emma a une fille qui fait la joie de ses grands-parents.

Karoly Sziladi figure parmi les 50 éminents Canadiens mis à l’honneur dans le cadre d’une exposition de portraits de Tony Hauser commémorant le 50e anniversaire de la Révolution hongroise.

Menu