Events scheduled on our stages and public spaces are going ahead as planned.
Julian Pellicano |
Conductor

Julian Pellicano

A conductor with expansive musical interests, Julian Pellicano is a formidable interpreter of the symphonic repertoire as well as a versatile conductor in a diverse blend of genres. The Winnipeg Free Press says of Pellicano, “His versatility is truly astonishing…”  Julian Pellicano is currently the Resident Conductor of the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra where he conducts on all of the orchestra’s various concert series.

In addition to his position with the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, Julian keeps a busy schedule of international concerts and projects. He has recently led concerts with the Orquestra de Valencia (Spain), the Louisiana Philharmonic, Hartford Symphony Orchestra, New Britain Symphony, Orquestra Sinfonica de Porto Alegre (Brazil), the Eastern Connecticut Symphony, Tuscaloosa Symphony, Milwaukee’s Present Music, The Dinosaur Annex Ensemble, Groundswell Contemporary Music, The Brandon Chamber Players, and appeared at the first edition of the Ciclo de Música Contemporánea de Oviedo (Spain).

Equally at home in ballet, opera and theater, Pellicano recently made his debut with the Royal Winnipeg Ballet in two productions and has also led performances with the Huntsville Ballet and Eastern Connecticut Ballet. Fully staged opera productions include The Marriage of Figaro, Rinaldo, The Medium, La Cenerentola, The Pirates of Penzance, a staged version of Kurt Weill’s Mahagonny Songspiel, Nancy Van de Vate’s Where the Cross is Made and In the Shadow of the Glen, as well as collaborations in musical theater productions of South Pacific and A Chorus Line with Winnipeg’s Rainbow Stage.

Pellicano has built his career by following an unconventional path. The creation, with Dr. Paul Lehrman, of a new performance edition of George Antheil's Ballet Mecanique first brought Pellicano to the public’s attention. He studied conducting as a fellow at the Yale School of Music and he has conducted in masterclasses with Kurt Masur, Peter Eötvös, Zsolt Nagy, Martyn Brabbins, Carl St. Clair, L’Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg and the Royal Scottish National Orchestra. An autodidact, he was accepted to the Peabody Conservatory as a percussionist without typical classical training, and continued his percussion studies at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm, Sweden and at the Yale School of Music where he was a member of the critically acclaimed Yale Percussion Group. Pellicano also holds a degree in philosophy from The Johns Hopkins University.

Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août
Julian Pellicano |
Chef d'orchestre

Julian Pellicano

Chef d’orchestre aux multiples intérêts musicaux, Julian Pellicano est un formidable interprète du répertoire symphonique en même temps qu’un chef polyvalent capable de toucher tous les genres musicaux. À propos de Pellicano, le Winnipeg Free Press dit : « Sa polyvalence est vraiment étonnante… ». Julian Pellicano est actuellement chef d’orchestre en résidence du Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra et, à ce titre, il dirige des concerts dans les diverses séries présentées par l’orchestre.

En plus de ses activités au Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, Julian Pellicano dirige de nombreux concerts et réalise de nombreux projets sur les scènes internationales. Récemment, il a dirigé avec plusieurs orchestres dont Orquestra de Valencia (Espagne), Louisiana Philharmonic, Hartford Symphony Orchestra, New Britain Symphony, Orquestra Sinfonica de Porto Alegre (Brésil), Eastern Connecticut Symphony, Tuscaloosa Symphony, Present Music, de Milwaukee, The Dinosaur Annex Ensemble, Groundswell Contemporary Music, The Brandon Chamber Players, et il a dirigé lors de la première édition du Ciclo de Música Contemporánea de Oviedo (Espagne).

Aussi à l’aise dans la musique de ballet que dans l’Opéra ou la musique de théâtre, Julian Pellicano a récemment fait ses débuts avec le Royal Winnipeg Ballet en dirigeant l’orchestre dans deux productions, puis il a aussi dirigé pour le Huntsville Ballet et Eastern Connecticut Ballet. À l’Opéra, il a dirigé dans Le mariage de Figaro, Rinaldo, The Medium, La Cenerentola, Les Pirates de Penzance et dans des versions scénographiées de Mahagonny Songspiel, de Kurt Weil, Where the Cross is Made, de Nancy Van de Vate et In the Shadow of the Glen, et il a collaboré aux productions de théâtre musical South Pacific et A Chorus Line avec Rainbow Stage, de Winnipeg.

Le parcours professionnel de Julian Pellicano n’est pas conventionnel. Il a d’abord attiré l’attention du public en créant, avec le Dr Paul Lehrman, une nouvelle version de Ballet mécanique, de George Antheil. Il a étudié la direction d’orchestre en tant que boursier à la Yale School of Music et a dirigé des classes de maître avec Kurt Masur, Peter Eötvös, Zsolt Nagy, Martyn Brabbins, Carl St. Clair, l’Orchestre philharmonique du Luxembourg et le Royal Scottish National Orchestra. Autodidacte, Pellicano a été admis au Peabody Conservatory comme percussionniste bien qu’il n’avait pas de formation classique, puis il a poursuivi l’étude des percussions au Royal College of Music à Stockholm, en Suède et à la Yale School of Music où il fut membre du réputé Yale Percussion Group. Pellicano est également diplômé en philosophie de Johns Hopkins University.

Menu