June 30, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Julia Amanda Perry |
Composer

Julia Perry

United States

Julia Perry (1924–1979)

Julia Amanda Perry was an American composer, conductor, and teacher. She achieved acclaim for works that blended 20th-century European techniques with the music idioms of her Black American heritage. Her compositions include three operas, 14 choral works, 12 symphonies, many vocal works, and several chamber works for eclectic instrumental combinations.

Born in Lexington, Kentucky on March 25, 1924, Perry grew up in Akron, Ohio, playing violin and piano. She went on to study piano, voice, and composition at Westminster Choir College, where she earned her bachelor and master of music degrees, and received conducting training at The Juilliard School. Her works from this period are mostly songs and choral music, which are heavily influenced by spirituals. Some short pieces incorporate aspects of the blues.

Perry also spent summers at the Berkshire Music Center in Tanglewood, Massachusetts, where in 1951, she studied composition with Luigi Dallapiccola. The following year, she received a Guggenheim fellowship to continue studies with him in Florence, Italy; another Guggenheim fellowship in 1954 enabled her to study with Nadia Boulanger in Paris, France. While in Europe, Perry developed an abstract style of which dissonant harmonies, shifting rhythms, and contrapuntal textures are prominent characteristics. She also became active as a conductor.

In 1959, Perry returned to the United States. During the 1960s, her works were performed by the New York Philharmonic and other major orchestras to critical acclaim. She received numerous awards and accolades, including a National Institute of Arts and Letters Award in 1964. In response to the civil rights struggles of the 1960s, Perry sought to reference Black American musical idioms more explicitly in her compositions. Works like A Suite Symphony (1976), for example, draw on rock and roll and rhythm and blues.

In 1971, Perry suffered the first of several strokes that left her paralyzed on the right side. Undaunted, she taught herself how to write with her left hand. She continued composing until her death, at age 55, on April 24, 1979, in Akron, Ohio.

Menu

Julia Amanda Perry |
Compositrice

Julia Perry

États-Unis

Julia Perry (1924–1979)

Julia Amanda Perry était une compositrice, chef d’orchestre et enseignante américaine. Elle a été acclamée pour ses œuvres qui combinaient les techniques européennes du XXe siècle aux idiomes musicaux de son héritage noir américain. Parmi ses compositions, notons trois opéras, 14 œuvres chorales, 12 symphonies, de nombreuses œuvres vocales et plusieurs œuvres de musique de chambre pour des combinaisons instrumentales éclectiques.

Née à Lexington, au Kentucky, le 25 mars 1924, Mme Perry a grandi à Akron, en Ohio, où elle jouait du violon et du piano. Elle a ensuite étudié le piano, le chant et la composition au Westminster Choir College, où elle a obtenu son baccalauréat et sa maîtrise en musique, et a reçu une formation de chef d’orchestre à l’école Juilliard. Ses œuvres de cette période sont principalement des chansons et de la musique chorale, fortement influencées par les spirituals. Certaines pièces courtes incorporent des aspects du blues.

Perry a également passé des étés au Berkshire Music Center à Tanglewood, au Massachusetts, où elle a étudié la composition avec Luigi Dallapiccola en 1951. L’année suivante, elle reçoit une bourse Guggenheim pour poursuivre ses études avec lui à Florence, en Italie; une autre bourse Guggenheim en 1954 lui permet d’étudier avec Nadia Boulanger à Paris, en France. Pendant son séjour en Europe, Perry a développé un style abstrait dont les harmonies dissonantes, les rythmes changeants et les textures contrapuntiques sont les principales caractéristiques. C’est également à ce moment qu’elle lance sa carrière de chef d’orchestre.

En 1959, Perry retourne aux États-Unis. Au cours des années 1960, ses œuvres sont interprétées par l’Orchestre philharmonique de New York et d’autres grands orchestres et sont saluées par la critique. Elle reçoit de nombreux prix et distinctions, dont un prix du National Institute of Arts and Letters en 1964. En réponse aux luttes pour les droits civiques des années 1960, Perry a cherché à faire référence aux idiomes musicaux noirs américains de manière plus explicite dans ses compositions. Des œuvres comme A Suite Symphony (1976), par exemple, s’inspirent du rock and roll et du rhythm and blues.

En 1971, Perry a subi la première de plusieurs attaques cérébrales qui l’ont paralysée du côté droit. Imperturbable, elle apprend à écrire de la main gauche. Elle a continué à composer jusqu’à sa mort, à l’âge de 55 ans, le 24 avril 1979, à Akron, en Ohio.

Menu