|
Performing Arts Curator, facilitator and consultant

Joyce Rosario

Joyce Rosario is performing arts curator, facilitator and consultant based on the unceded territories of the Musqueam, Squamish, and Tsleil-Waututh Nations (Vancouver BC) and is the first generation of her Pangasinan family to be born on this territory.

In her practice she is guided by values of collaboration, rigour and care and over her career has gained broad exposure in interdisciplinary, experimental and community-based performance.

In the past year, she has worked on projects with The Cultch, Museum of Vancouver, Canada Dance Festival and Fascinator Management. She is currently pursuing study as an advanced practitioner in Critical Response Process with Liz Lerman and John Borstel.

Until June 2020, Joyce was Associate Artistic Director at the PuSh International Performing Arts Festival where she spent seven years in curatorial and senior leadership positions. Previously, Joyce spent 10 years in the Canadian dance milieu as a producer and executive director for organizations such as New Works and Made in BC - Dance on Tour. She trained in Theatre Production/Design at the University of British Columbia in 2003, and in her early career was once nominated for a Jessie Richardson award in Costume Design. Her first foray in performance was as a teenage participant in a new genre public art project by Suzanne Lacy.

Menu

Portrait de Joyce Rosario ©
Organisatrice en arts de la scène, animatrice et consultante

Joyce Rosario

Dernière mise à jour: 10 décembre 2021

Joyce Rosario est organisatrice en arts de la scène, animatrice et consultante. Elle réside sur les territoires non cédés des nations Musqueam, Squamish et Tsleil-Waututh (Vancouver) et fait partie de la première génération de sa famille originaire du Pangasinan (Philippines) à être née sur ces territoires.

Sa pratique artistique est fondée sur la collaboration, la rigueur et la sollicitude. Au cours de sa carrière, elle a acquis une vaste expérience des spectacles interdisciplinaires, expérimentaux et communautaires.

L’an dernier, elle a collaboré avec The Cultch, le Musée de Vancouver, le Festival Danse Canada et Fascinator Management. Elle participe actuellement à une formation en intervention critique (Critical Response Process), dirigée par Liz Lerman et John Borstel.

Rosario a été directrice artistique associée jusqu’à juin 2020 au Festival international des arts de la scène PuSh, où elle a occupé pendant sept ans des postes de programmatrice et de haute directrice. Auparavant, elle a travaillé pendant dix ans dans le milieu de la danse canadienne, en tant que productrice et directrice générale pour New Works et Made in BC – Dance on Tour, notamment. Elle a étudié en production et conception théâtrales à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique en 2003. Au début de sa carrière, Joyce Rosario a été finaliste au prix Jessie-Richardson en conception de costumes. Adolescente, elle a participé à un projet d’art public nouveau genre, conçu par Suzanne Lacy – sa première incursion dans le milieu du spectacle.

Menu