October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
John Adams | Deborah O'Grady
Composer

John Adams

United States

John Adams

(Born in 1947)

Composer, conductor, and creative thinker—John Adams occupies a unique position in the world of American music. His works stand out among contemporary classical compositions for their depth of expression, brilliance of sound, and the profoundly humanist nature of their themes.

Among Adams’s works are several of the most performed contemporary classical pieces today: Harmonielehre, Shaker Loops, Chamber Symphony, Doctor Atomic Symphony, Short Ride in a Fast Machine, and his Violin Concerto. His stage works, in collaboration with director Peter Sellars, include Nixon in China, The Death of Klinghoffer, El Niño, Doctor Atomic, A Flowering Tree, and the Passion oratorio The Gospel According to Mary. Adams’s most recent opera, Girls of the Golden West, set during the 1850s California Gold Rush, was premiered by the San Francisco Opera in 2017.

In 2019, Adams received Holland's prestigious Erasmus Prize, “for contributions to European culture,” the only American composer ever chosen for this award. Adams has additionally received honorary doctorates from Harvard, Yale, Northwestern University, Cambridge University, and the Juilliard School. Since 2009 he has held the position of Creative Chair with the Los Angeles Philharmonic. A provocative writer, he is author of the highly acclaimed autobiography Hallelujah Junction and is a contributor to The New York Times Book Review.

As a conductor of his own works and wide variety of repertoire, Adams has appeared with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, Wiener Symphoniker, Los Angeles Philharmonic, and the orchestras of Seattle, Cincinnati, Atlanta, and Toronto.

Adams’s 2019 piano concerto Must the Devil Have All the Good Tunes? was recently recorded by pianist Yuja Wang with the LA Phil and Gustavo Dudamel, and released by Deutsche Grammophon.

 

Reprinted by kind permission of Boosey & Hawkes

Menu

John Adams | Deborah
Compositeur

John Adams

États-Unis

John Adams

(Né en 1947)

Compositeur, chef d'orchestre et créateur, John Adams occupe une position unique dans le monde de la musique américaine. Ses œuvres se distinguent parmi les compositions classiques contemporaines par leur profondeur d'expression, la brillance de leur son et la nature profondément humaniste de leurs thèmes.

Parmi les œuvres d'Adams figurent plusieurs des pièces classiques contemporaines les plus jouées aujourd'hui : Harmonielehre, Shaker Loops, Symphonie de chambre, Doctor Atomic Symphony, Short Ride in a Fast Machine, et son Concerto pour violon. Ses œuvres scéniques, en collaboration avec le metteur en scène Peter Sellars, comprennent Nixon in China, The Death of Klinghoffer, El Niño, Doctor Atomic, A Flowering Tree et the Passion oratorio The Gospel According to Mary. L'opéra le plus récent d'Adams, Girls of the Golden West, qui se déroule pendant la ruée vers l'or en Californie dans les années 1850, a été créé par l'Opéra de San Francisco en 2017.

En 2019, Adams a reçu le prestigieux prix Erasmus de Hollande, " pour ses contributions à la culture européenne ", le seul compositeur américain jamais choisi pour cette récompense. Adams a en outre reçu des doctorats honorifiques de Harvard, Yale, l'Université Northwestern, l'Université de Cambridge et la Juilliard School. Depuis 2009, il occupe le poste de président créatif de l'Orchestre philharmonique de Los Angeles. Écrivain provocateur, il est l'auteur de l'autobiographie très appréciée Hallelujah Junction et collabore au New York Times Book Review.

En tant que chef d'orchestre de ses propres œuvres et d'une grande variété de répertoires, Adams s'est produit avec le Berliner Philharmoniker, le Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, le London Symphony Orchestra, le Wiener Symphoniker, le Los Angeles Philharmonic et les orchestres de Seattle, Cincinnati, Atlanta et Toronto.

Le concerto pour piano de 2019 d'Adams, Must the Devil Have All the Good Tunes ?, a récemment été enregistré par la pianiste Yuja Wang avec le Los Angeles Philharmonic et Gustavo Dudamel, et publié par Deutsche Grammophon.

 

Reproduit avec l'aimable autorisation de Boosey & Hawkes.

Menu