September 21, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
 |
Composer

Jerod Impichchaachaaha’ Tate

Oklahoma · United States

Jerod Impichchaachaaha’ Tate (Born in 1968)

Jerod Impichchaachaaha’ Tate, is a classical composer, citizen of the Chickasaw Nation in Oklahoma and is dedicated to the development of American Indian classical composition. A Washington Post review states that “Tate is rare as an American Indian composer of classical music. Rarer still is his ability to effectively infuse classical music with American Indian nationalism.” Tate is Guest Composer/Conductor/Pianist for the San Francisco Symphony’s Currents program Thunder Song: American Indian Musical Cultures, and was recently Guest Composer for the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Balcony Bar program Home with ETHEL and Friends, featuring his commissioned work Pisachi (Reveal) for String Quartet.

Recent commissions include Shell Shaker: A Chickasaw Opera for Mount Holyoke Symphony Orchestra; Ghost of the White Deer, Concerto for Bassoon and Orchestra for Dallas Symphony Orchestra; and Hózhó (Navajo Strong) and Ithánali (I Know) for White Snake Opera Company. His music was recently featured on the HBO series Westworld. He is a three-time commissioned recipient from the American Composers Forum, a Chamber Music America’s Classical Commissioning Program recipient, a Cleveland Institute of Music Alumni Achievement Award recipient, a governor-appointed Creativity Ambassador for the State of Oklahoma, and an Emmy Award winner for his work on the Oklahoma Educational Television Authority documentary, The Science of Composing.

Tate was the founding composition instructor for the Chickasaw Summer Arts Academy and has taught composition to American Indian high school students in Minneapolis, the Hopi, Navajo, and Lummi reservations, and Native students in Toronto.

Mr. Tate’s middle name, Impichchaachaaha', means “his high corncrib” and is his inherited traditional Chickasaw house name. A corncrib is a small hut used for the storage of corn and other vegetables. In traditional Chickasaw culture, the corncrib was built high off the ground on stilts to keep its contents safe from foraging animals.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 30 juin 2021.
 |
Compositeur

Jerod Impichchaachaaha’ Tate

Oklahoma · États-Unis

Jerod Impichchaachaaha’ Tate, compositeur (né en 1968)

Jerod Impichchaachaaha’ Tate est un compositeur classique de la Nation Chickasaw de l’Oklahoma qui se consacre au développement des compositions classiques autochtones. Selon le Washington Post, « Tate est l’un des rares compositeurs de musique classique autochtone. Sa capacité à allier nationalisme autochtone et musique classique est encore plus rare. » Compositeur, chef d’orchestre et pianiste invité de Thunder Song: American Indian Musical Cultures (série Currents de l’Orchestre symphonique de San Francisco), il a été compositeur invité au Metropolitan Museum of Art pour Home with ETHEL and Friends (série Balcony Bar), comprenant sa pièce Pisachi (Reveal) pour quatuor à cordes, une œuvre de commande.

Parmi ses récentes commandes, notons :  Shell Shaker: A Chikasaw Opera pour l’Orchestre symphonique de Mount Holyoke; Ghost of the White Deer pour basson et orchestre pour l’Orchestre symphonique de Dallas; ainsi que Hózhó (Navajo Strong) et Ithánali (I Know) pour la White Snake Opera Company. On a récemment pu entendre sa musique dans la série Westworld de HBO. Tate a reçu des commandes du Forum des compositeurs américains à trois reprises; participé au programme de commandes en musique classique de Chamber Music America; et remporté le Prix de la réalisation des anciens de l’Institut de musique de Cleveland. Sacré Ambassadeur en créativité par le gouverneur de l’État de l’Oklahoma, il a obtenu un prix Emmy pour The Science of Composing, documentaire de l’Autorité de la télévision éducative de l’Oklahoma.

Professeur de composition fondateur de l’Académie estivale des arts Chikasaw, Tate a enseigné la composition aux élèves autochtones du niveau secondaire à Minneapolis et Toronto ainsi que dans des réserves Hopi, Navajo et Lummi.

Le second prénom de Tate, Impichchaachaaha’, signifie « son haut crib à maïs »; il s’agit du nom traditionnel héréditaire Chickasaw de sa lignée. Le crib à maïs est une petite hutte servant à l’entreposage du maïs et d’autres légumes. Dans la culture Chicksaw traditionnelle, le crib à maïs était placé au-dessus du sol sur pilotis afin de protéger son contenu des animaux fourrageurs.

Menu