|

Jean Desmarais

Gifted with extraordinary versatility, Ottawa-based pianist Jean Desmarais studied with Monique Collet-Samyn (Hull), Anisia Campos, Rafi Armenian (Montreal), Monique Deschaussées (Paris), Johanna Stieler (Berlin) and Dalton Baldwin (United States).

Mr. Desmarais has won several international Awards and premiered over 200 new creations, many from Canadian composers. Active on stages all over the world he has been invited to play in France, Italy, Germany, Poland, Romania, Russia, Mexico, USA and Canada. He was soloist with, among others, the Philharmonic Orchestras of Brasov (Romania), Szczecin (Poland) and Chihuahua (Mexico), as well as with I Musici de Montreal, Les Violons du Roy (Quebec ), and the Chamber Orchestra of Hull.

Mr. Desmarais has played in recital at the Banff Centre with the legendary Pinchas Zukerman, and has collaborated with artists such as Ben Heppner, Dame Kiri Te Kanawa, Amanda Forsyth, Joel Quarrington. He has been invited to coach at the Canadian Opera Company for several opera productions, and in 2007, was the only Canadian pianist invited to play in recital at the Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow to commemorate the 50th anniversary of Glen Gould’s famous recital there.

As one of the most respected teachers in Canada, Mr. Desmarais’ students have gone on to win national awards and study in major music schools such as the Sorbonne (Paris), Conservatory of Amsterdam, and the Cleveland Music Institute.

Mr. Desmarais was awarded the Commemorative Medal for the 125th anniversary of Canadian Confederation for his outstanding contribution to the arts in Canada and abroad. He has recently taken on the post of Music Director and Principal Conductor of Strings of St. John's in Ottawa.
 

Menu

|

Jean Desmarais

Doué d’une polyvalence hors du commun, le pianiste Jean Desmarais, qui réside maintenant à Ottawa, a eu pour maîtres Monique Collet-Samyn (Hull), Anisia Campos et Rafi Armenian (Montréal), Monique Deschaussées (Paris), Johanna Stieler (Berlin) et Dalton Baldwin (États-Unis).

M. Desmarais a remporté de nombreux prix à l’échelle internationale et a interprété plus de 200 œuvres en première mondiale, dont un grand nombre ont été écrites par des compositeurs canadiens.  Actif sur les scènes du monde entier, il a été invité à jouer en France, en Italie, en Allemagne, en Pologne, en Roumanie, en Russie, au Mexique, aux États-Unis et au Canada. Il a été soliste pour les Orchestres philharmoniques de Brasov (Roumanie), Stettin (Pologne) et Chihuahua (Mexique), les ensembles I Musici (Montréal) et Les violons du Roy (Québec), ainsi que l’Orchestre de Chambre de Hull.

Jean Desmarais s’est produit en récital au Centre des arts de Banff avec le légendaire Pinchas Zukerman; il a aussi collaboré avec Ben Heppner, Dame Kiri Te Kanawa, Amanda Forsyth et Joel Quarrington. Il a agi à titre de consultant pour plusieurs productions de la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne. En 2007, il a été le seul pianiste canadien invité à participer à la commémoration du 50e anniversaire du célèbre récital du pianiste Glenn Gould au conservatoire Tchaïkovski à Moscou.

M. Desmarais est l’un des pédagogues les plus respectés au Canada; ses élèves se font remarquer en remportant des prix nationaux et en étudiant dans les grandes écoles de musique, comme la Sorbonne, le Conservatoire de musique d’Amsterdam et l’Institut de musique de Cleveland.

Jean Desmarais a été décoré de la médaille commémorative du 125e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne pour souligner sa contribution exceptionnelle au monde des arts, tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger. Il est récemment entré en fonction à titre de directeur musical et chef d’orchestre de l’ensemble ottavien Strings of St. John's.

Menu