|
Chief Executive Officer, NAC Foundation

Jayne Watson

Ottawa, ON

Jayne Watson was appointed CEO of the National Arts Centre (NAC) Foundation in 2009. She leads a team of highly-skilled development professionals dedicated to supporting arts education and programming at the National Arts Centre, a thriving hub for performance, creation, and learning in Canada. The NAC Foundation has achieved record fundraising goals over the period of Ms. Watson’s leadership and has championed new initiatives such as its first-ever national fundraising Campaign which raised more than $25M for a national Creation Fund to help Canadian creators think bigger about new works in theatre, music and dance. During her time as CEO, the Foundation has surpassed fundraising goals for projects such as Canadian and international tours (China, UK and Europe) for Music and Theatre; the creation of the Share the Spirit Program, which brings the magic of the performing arts to deserving audiences who might not otherwise be able to attend, as well as special purpose fundraising for performance, creation and learning projects across Canada. Ms. Watson works closely with a volunteer board that champions the NAC and its priorities across Canada.

Ms. Watson joined the National Arts Centre in 2001 as Director of Communications and Public Affairs. She helped to establish national media partnerships with print and broadcast media for key NAC programming such as its regional Scene festivals, NAC Orchestra Tours and for prestigious national celebrations such as the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards Gala. In 2008, Ms. Watson co-chaired the NAC’s strategic planning process and co-authored the NAC’s 2008-2013 strategic plan, “Performing for Canadians.”

Ms. Watson has more than 25 years experience as a senior executive, political advisor, and consultant. Prior to joining the NAC in 2001, she served as the Director of Communications at Export Development Canada, and held senior communications roles in the Office of the Speaker of the House of Commons and Canada Post Corporation.

Ms. Watson has served as a member of the Advancement Committee of the Board of Ashbury College; as a member of the Ottawa chapter of Gold Medal Plates fundraising Committee for Canadian Olympic athletes; as a Queen’s University Trustee Representative on the Agnes Etherington Art Centre Advisory Board; and as Vice-Chair of the External Relations and Development Committee of the Board of Queen’s University. She was also on the Organizing Committee for Ottawa’s 2016 One Young World conference, and served on the International Advisory Board of the Biennial of the Americas (2015). Currently she is a member of KCI’s Fundraising “Trends Advisory Board.”

Menu

|
Chef de la direction, Fondation du CNA

Jayne Watson

Ottawa · ON

Jayne Watson a été nommée chef de la direction de la Fondation du Centre national des Arts (CNA) en 2009. Elle dirige une équipe de professionnels du développement hautement qualifiés qui s’emploie à soutenir les activités éducatives et la programmation du Centre national des Arts, carrefour dynamique de la diffusion, de la création et de la transmission des savoirs au Canada. Sous sa gouverne, la Fondation du CNA a atteint des sommets historiques en matière de financement, en plus de promouvoir de nouvelles initiatives comme sa toute première campagne nationale de financement, qui a récolté plus de 25 M $ pour constituer un Fonds national de création en vue d’aider les créateurs canadiens à produire de nouvelles œuvres plus ambitieuses en théâtre, en musique et en danse. Depuis qu’elle est en poste, la Fondation a surpassé ses objectifs de financement pour des initiatives comme les tournées canadiennes et internationales (Chine, R.-U. et Europe) en Musique et en Théâtre; pour la mise sur pied du programme Partager l’esprit, qui donne accès à la magie des arts de la scène à des publics n’ayant habituellement pas la possibilité d’assister à des spectacles au CNA; ainsi que dans le cadre de campagnes de financement ciblées en appui à des initiatives de diffusion, de création et de transmission des savoirs partout au Canada. Mme Watson œuvre en étroite collaboration avec un conseil d’administration bénévole qui fait la promotion du CNA et de ses priorités à travers le pays.

Mme Watson s’est jointe au Centre national des Arts en 2001 comme directrice des Communications et affaires publiques. Elle a contribué à l’établissement de partenariats nationaux avec les médias – presse et radiotélévision – autour des programmations clés du CNA comme le festival des Scènes régionales, les tournées de l’Orchestre du CNA, et des événements nationaux prestigieux tel le Gala des Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle. En 2008, elle a coprésidé le processus de planification stratégique du CNA et collaboré, à titre de coauteure, à la rédaction du plan stratégique 2008-2013 de la Société, intitulé En scène pour les Canadiens.

Mme Watson compte plus de 25 ans d’expérience comme cadre supérieur, conseillère politique et consultante. Avant de se joindre au CNA, elle était directrice des Communications à Exportation et développement Canada. Elle a également occupé des postes de haut rang en communication au Bureau du président de la Chambre des communes et à la Société canadienne des postes.

Mme Watson a œuvré au sein du comité de promotion du conseil d’administration du collège Ashbury; du comité de financement de l’événement Des chefs en or en appui aux athlètes olympiques canadiens – section Ottawa; du conseil consultatif de l’Agnes Etherington Art Centre à titre de représentante de l’Université Queen; et du conseil d’administration de l’Université Queen, en qualité de vice-présidente du comité des affaires extérieures et du développement. Elle a aussi été membre du comité organisateur du sommet One Young World 2016 à Ottawa, et du conseil consultatif international du festival Biennial of the Americas (2015). Elle fait actuellement partie du Comité consultatif de Philanthropie « En perspective » de KCI.

Menu