| Sasha Onyshchenko / GB

Ivan Cavallari

Born in Bolzano, Italy, in 1964, Ivan Cavallari received his initial training at the Teatro alla Scala Ballet School in Milan. His teachers recognized his talent by awarding him a scholarship to the Bolchoi Ballet School in Moscow in 1981, where he continued his training until 1983. From 1984 to 1985, he danced with the Scala Ballet School before joining the Stuttgart Ballet in 1986, where he became a soloist and then principal dancer under the successive directorships of Marcia Haydée and Reid Anderson. He danced all the leading roles of John Cranko’s ballets and regularly staged the latter’s works with the Royal Ballet Covent Garden in London, La Scala in Milan, the Czech National Ballet, among many other companies. He also staged numerous works by Uwe Scholz, and choreographed ballets for the Stuttgart Ballet, the State Opera Ballet in Hanover, the Lodz State Opera Ballet in Poland, the Mannheim Ballet, the Vienna State Opera Ballet, the Staatsgallerie Stuttgart and the Liaoning Ballet of China.

From 2007 to 2012, he was the Artistic Director of the West Australian Ballet, the oldest dance company in Australia. In 2013, he was named the Artistic Director of the Ballet de l’Opéra national du Rhin, where he staged such works as Dolly in April 2013, and his own choreographies of Pinocchio in 2014 and The Nutcracker in 2016.

He took over the helm of Les Grands Ballets as Artistic Director as of the 2017-2018 season. As choreographer, he created new works such as Presto-Detto and Giselle, taking the company's repertoire in a resolutely classical direction while remaining rooted in modernity. His version of Romeo & Juliet premiered in March 2022 at Place des Arts in Montreal.

Menu

Portrait de Ivan Cavallari © Sasha Onyshchenko / GB

Ivan Cavallari

Dernière mise à jour: 25 novembre 2022

Né à Bolzano, en Italie, en 1964, Ivan Cavallari intègre l'école du Ballet de La Scala à Milan, avant d'être boursier à l'école du Bolchoï Ballet de Moscou, en 1981, où il poursuit sa formation jusqu'en 1983. De 1984 à 1985, il est danseur au sein du Ballet de La Scala, et en 1986, il entre au Ballet de Stuttgart, où il devient danseur étoile en 1991, sous la direction artistique de Marcia Haydée, puis de Reid Anderson. Il danse tous les premiers rôles des ballets de John Cranko et remonte régulièrement ses œuvres pour des compagnies telles que le Royal Ballet du Covent Garden de Londres, La Scala de Milan et le Ballet national tchèque à Prague, entre autres. Il remonte aussi de nombreuses œuvres d'Uwe Scholz. Il crée également des chorégraphies pour le Ballet de Stuttgart, le Ballet der Staatsoper à Hanovre, le Ballet de Lodz State Opera en Pologne, le Ballet de Mannheim, le Ballet du Staatsoper de Vienne, la Staatsgallerie Stuttgart et et les Liaoning Ballet en Chine.

De 2007 à 2012, il assume la direction artistique du West Australian Ballet, la plus ancienne compagnie de danse d'Australie. En 2013, il devient directeur artistique du Ballet de l’Opéra national du Rhin. Il y crée entre autres Dolly, en avril 2013, remonte son Pinocchio, en janvier 2014, et présente son Casse-Noisette, en avril 2016.

Il prend la tête des Grands Ballets en tant que directeur artistique à partir de la saison 2017-2018. En tant que chorégraphe, il y crée de nouvelles œuvres telles que Presto-Detto et Giselle, ramenant le répertoire de la compagnie dans une direction résolument classique tout en restant ancré dans la modernité. Sa version de Roméo & Juliette fut présentée en grande première en mars 2022, à la Place des Arts de Montréal. 

Événements

Menu