October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Hillary Simms |
Trombone

Hillary Simms

Hillary Simms, Trombone

Hillary Simms is a young dynamic trombonist from Torbay, Newfoundland and Labrador. Praised as “one of the rising stars in the trombone world for her stellar playing, infectious personality and deep musicianship” (Jens Lindemann), Ms. Simms started the year 2020 by being named Stratford Symphony’s 2020 Emerging Artist and by being a co-founder of The Canadian Trombone Quartet: Canada’s first professional all female trombone quartet who had their inaugural performance this past January.

Hillary was a performing artist in the first ever Canadian Women’s Brass Conference held in Toronto and a featured guest artist at the Memorial University of Newfoundland’s “Paddi-versary Extravaganza” Trombone Event. Her accomplishments include winning the Division II Solo Competition at the American Trombone Workshop, receiving second place prize for brass at the Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal Concours Manuvie, being a finalist in the Latzsch Trombone Festival Solo Competition and The International Trombone Festival Robert Marstellar Solo Competition as well as being named a recipient of the Sylva Gelber Music Foundation Award.

Hillary has recently played with the Canadian Opera Company, The Thunder Bay Symphony Orchestra and the Windsor Symphony Orchestra and can be heard playing lead trombone on the CD “Then is Now” recorded at the Banff Centre for the Arts and Creativity with Jens Lindemann and Matt Catingub released January 21st, 2020.

Hillary holds a Bachelors in Music Performance from McGill University, a Masters in Music Performance from Yale University and has recently completed an Artist Diploma from the Glenn Gould School, studying with Gordon Wolfe. Hillary intends to start her Doctorate of Musical Arts from Northwestern University in the fall of 2020.

Menu

Portrait de Hillary Simms ©
Trombone

Hillary Simms

Dernière mise à jour: 7 octobre 2020

Hillary Simms, trombone

Hillary Simms est une jeune et dynamique tromboniste originaire de Torbay (T.-N.-L.). Saluée comme « l’une des étoiles montantes du monde du trombone grâce à sa personnalité engageante, son brillant jeu et sa grande sensibilité musicale » (Jens Lindemann), elle a été sacrée Artiste émergente 2020 par l’Orchestre symphonique de Stratford. En 2020, elle a aussi cofondé le Canadian Trombone Quartet, premier quatuor de trombone au Canada à être exclusivement formé d’instrumentistes féminins dont la prestation inaugurale a été donnée en janvier dernier.

Simms s’est produite sur scène lors de la première édition du Colloque des cuivristes canadiennes à Toronto et à titre d’artiste invitée au « Paddi-versary Extravaganza », un événement consacré au trombone qui s’est déroulé à l’Université Mémorial de Terre-Neuve. Elle a notamment remporté le concours solo (division II) de l’Atelier américain de trombone, le deuxième prix des cuivres au Concours OSM Manuvie et le prix de la Fondation de musique Sylva-Gelber. Elle a également été finaliste du concours solo du Festival de trombone Latzsch et de celui du Festival international de trombone Robert Marstellar.

 On a pu récemment voir Simms sur scène avec la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne, l’Orchestre symphonique de Thunder Bay et l’Orchestre symphonique de Windsor. On peut aussi l’entendre à titre de trombone solo sur le CD Then Is Now, paru le 21 janvier 2020 et enregistré avec Jens Lindemann et Matt Catingub au Centre des arts et de la créativité de Banff.

Simms est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en interprétation musicale de l’Université McGill et d’une maîtrise dans le même domaine de l’Université Yale. Elle a récemment obtenu un diplôme d’artiste de l’École Glenn Gould sous la direction de Gordon Wolfe. Hillary Simms est actuellement étudiante au doctorat en arts musicaux à l’Université Northwestern.

Événements

Médias du CNA avec Hillary Simms

Menu