Herbie Barnes, <i>The Hobbit</i>, Young People&rsquo;s Theatre | Cylla Von Tiedemann
2014-15 Ensemble

Herbie Barnes

Toronto, ON

Before they arrived at the NAC for rehearsals, we asked a few questions to the members of the 2014-15 Ensemble about themselves.

1)      What are you working on over the summer?
I have been acting at 4th Line Theatre playing Doctor Thomas Barnardo in Doctor Barnardo’s Children and I have directed and taken over the role in Darrell Dennis’ one man show, Tales of an Urban Indian in Hannibal, Missouri.

2)      What are you looking most forward to when you arrive at the NAC?
Building a team of performers who challenge one another… and drinking beer with them.

3)      How did you get involved in acting?
I’ll try and make this quick but the story goes like this. I always wanted to be an actor – my plan was to make it to the big leagues in baseball, then drift over into movie stardom (didn’t happen). But in grade four the high school teacher from the local high school came to my public school to do workshops with her students and the students at my school. At the end of the day she came to me and said I want to teach you, come to my school when you are old enough. So I did but she was gone. At the school another teacher took me under her wing and sent me out to workshops and shows and so my whole high school life I was taking classes and doing shows until I saw Dry Lips Oughta Move to Kapuskasing (a show I later did at the NAC in 1991). In the program they listed a theatre company close to my Rez. I went in to that theatre and the artistic director there was the director of Dry Lips. He hired me to do the show that fall and when touring it to Toronto, Thomson Highway saw the play and hired me for my next play. That’s the quick story. 

4)      What’s the most interesting thing that has happened to you on stage?
So much stuff has happened, my lord. I think standing in the wings holding the script of a play I never rehearsed about to go on because the actor didn’t show up for the show. Lucky for the audience and me he ran in just before my entrance. Playing Bilbo Baggins to a theatre audience that was all around me and a four-year-old young lady telling me “Get back in there, Mister!!” when asked if I should go back and find my friends in the Misty Mountains. Even doing Doc Barnardo this summer, a child truly engrossed in the play screamed at me because she was so mad at my character and she was convinced that I was doing it for money and not for the love of the children. 

Raised in: Toronto, ON | Based in: Toronto, ON

For the NAC: 

Copper Thunderbird (co-production with Urban Ink Productions).

Theatre: 

Herbie Barnes has played many roles throughout his 20 year career both on stage and on film. His best-known stage roles include Bilbo Baggins in The Hobbit (Manitoba Theatre for Young People); a Wikershame Brother in Sussical The Musical. Directing credits include The HobbitThe Remember (Manitoba Theatre for Young People); Someday and Dinky (Native Earth); Tales Of An Urban Indian (Public Theatre NYC/Autry theatre LA); Sexy Laundry (Persephone Theatre); Where the Blood Mixes (Theatre Northwest). 

Herbie’s play Russell’s World was honoured to be the first play to be asked to the Magnetic North Theatre Festival without having been produced first.  

Other:

Film/TV:  Acting credits include Dance Me Outside and The Rez.

Writing credits include Buffalo Tracks and Tipi Tales, a show that also uses his performing talents as a puppeteer and voice talent.

Directing credits include Reprezenting in Fort Chip, and was a shadow director on The Rez.

As a teacher he has spent time in inner city high schools, private schools, universities, and many theatre companies.

Menu

Herbie Barnes, <i>The Hobbit</i>, Young People&rsquo;s Theatre | Cylla Von Tiedemann

Herbie Barnes

Toronto, ON

Nous avons posé quelques questions aux membres de l’Ensemble 2014-15 pour apprendre à les connaître avant leur arrivée au CNA pour les répétitions.

1)      Sur quoi travaillez‑vous cet été?
Je joue le rôle du docteur Thomas Barnardo dans Doctor Barnardo’s Children, au 4th Line Theatre, et j’ai dirigé Tales of an Urban Indian, de Darrell Dennis, et tenu le rôle de ce spectacle solo, à Hannibal, au Missouri.

2)      Qu’attendez‑vous avec le plus d’impatience de votre séjour au CNA d’Ottawa?
Créer une équipe d’artistes de spectacle qui se mettent au défi les uns les autres … et boire de la bière avec eux!

3)      Comment êtes‑vous devenu acteur/actrice?
J’essaierai d’être bref, mais voici mon histoire. J’ai toujours voulu être un acteur – mon plan était d’entrer dans la ligue majeure de baseball, puis d’atteindre la gloire au cinéma (ce qui n’est pas arrivé). Mais en quatrième année, une enseignante de l’école secondaire locale est venue à mon école publique donner des ateliers avec ses élèves et les élèves de mon école. À la fin de la journée, elle est venue à moi et m’a dit qu’elle voulait m’enseigner, et de m’inscrire à son école lorsque j’aurais l’âge. Alors, c’est ce que j’ai fait, mais elle n’y était plus. À l’école, une autre enseignante m’a pris sous son aile et m’a fait faire des ateliers et des spectacles, et comme ça, tout au long de l’école secondaire, je suivais des cours et donnais des spectacles, jusqu’au jour où j’ai vu Dry Lips Oughta Move to Kapuskasing (spectacle que j’ai par la suite monté au CNA, en 1991). Dans le programme, ils mentionnaient le nom d’une compagnie de théâtre près de ma résidence. J’y suis allé, et le directeur artistique de la compagnie était le metteur en scène de Dry Lips. Il m’a engagé pour le spectacle de l’automne suivant, et lorsque nous l’avons joué à Toronto en tournée, Thomson Highway l’a vu et il m’a engagé pour ma prochaine pièce. Ça, c’est l’histoire en bref.

4)      Quelle est la chose la plus intéressante qui vous soit arrivée sur scène?
Tellement de choses se sont passées, mon dieu! Par exemple, dans les coulisses, j’ai entre les mains le scénario d’une pièce que je n’ai jamais répétée, sur le point de faire mon entrée en scène car l’acteur ne s’est pas présenté pour le spectacle. Une chance pour le public, et moi, qu’il soit arrivé en courant juste avant mon entrée. Ou, je joue le rôle de Bilbo Baggins devant un public de théâtre qui m’entourait de tous côtés et une jeune personne de quatre ans me dit « Retourne là‑dedans, monsieur!!! » lorsque j’ai demandé si je devais retourner dans les Monts Brumeux pour retrouver mes amis. Même en jouant Doc Barnardo cet été, une enfant était si profondément absorbée par la pièce, qu’elle m’a engueulé, tellement elle était fâchée contre mon personnage, convaincue que je le faisais pour l’argent et pas pour l’amour des enfants! 

A grandi à Toronto, ON | Vit à Toronto, ON

Au CNA : 

Copper Thunderbird (une coproduction avec Urban Ink Productions).

Théâtre : 

Herbie Barnes a incarné plusieurs rôles au cours de ses vingt ans de carrière, sur scène comme à l’écran.  Il est notamment connu pour avoir joué Bilbo Baggins dans The Hobbit (Manitoba Theatre for Young People) et l’un des frères Wikershame dans Sussical The Musical. Il a signé la mise en scène de The HobbitThe Remember (Manitoba Theatre for Young People); Someday et Dinky (Native Earth); Tales Of An Urban Indian (Public Theatre NYC/Autry theatre LA); Sexy Laundry (Persephone Theatre); Where the Blood Mixes (Theatre Northwest). 

Il a été invité à présenter sa pièce Russell’s World au Magnetic North Theatre Festival avant même que l’œuvre ne soit produite – du jamais vu.  

Autres : 

Télé./Films (comédien) Dance Me Outside et The Rez.

DramaturgeBuffalo Tracks et Tipi Tales, émission à laquelle il a prêté sa voix et ses talents de marionnettiste.

Metteur en scène Reprezenting in Fort Chip. Observateur du metteur en scène (shadow) The Rez.

À titre d’enseignant, il a travaillé dans des écoles secondaires de quartiers défavorisés, des écoles privées, des universités et avec de nombreuses compagnies de théâtre. 

Menu