June 30, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Heather Gibson |
Executive Producer, Popular Music and Variety

Heather Gibson

Heather Gibson is responsible for all non-orchestral music programming at Canada’s National Arts Centre in Ottawa. Presenting nearly 200 shows a year before the pandemic, Heather’s team works tirelessly to bring the best new, emerging and established artists to our stages from across Canada and around the world.

Beginning in March 2020, Heather created #CanadaPerforms, an emergency relief fund for Canadian artists. The program provided funding to nearly 700 performing artists and authors over three months at the beginning of the performing arts shut down. The emergency relief fund evolved to include non-profit festivals and organizations with a program entitled The Road to Canada Day. Over the first six months of the shut down, #CanadaPerforms and Heather’s team distributed nearly $950,000 across Canada in the performing arts

Originally from Manitoba, Heather Gibson built her career in the performing arts in Halifax where she graduated from Dalhousie University. Prior to joining the National Arts Centre in 2016, Heather had a successful arts management company in Halifax. Her career began in theatre management in 2000 and quickly developed to include festival management, special events and conference management, arts consulting, artist management and booking, and venue ownership.

Heather’s commitment to supporting the ever-changing landscape of the arts continues by working to develop emerging artists, and deliver an equitable representation on our stages for women and artists who identify as Indigenous, Black, or People of Colour.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 2 septembre 2021.
Heather Gibson |
Productrice générale, Musique populaire et Variétés

Heather Gibson

Heather Gibson est responsable de l’ensemble de la programmation musicale non orchestrale du Centre national des Arts à Ottawa. L’équipe de Heather, qui présentait tout près de 200 spectacles par année avant la pandémie, travaille d’arrache-pied pour présenter les meilleurs artistes émergents et établis de partout au Canada et à travers le monde sur nos scènes.

En mars 2020, Heather a créé #CanadaEnPrestation, un fonds de soutien d’urgence pour les artistes canadiens. Le programme a offert du financement à près de 700 artistes de scène, auteurs et autrices dans les trois premiers mois qui ont suivi la fermeture des salles de spectacle. Le fonds de soutien d’urgence a évolué pour inclure les festivals et organismes sans but lucratif avec un programme intitulé En route vers la fête du Canada. Au cours des six mois qui ont suivi le confinement, #CanadaEnPrestation et l’équipe de Heather ont distribué près de 950 000 $ dans les arts de la scène partout au Canada.

Originaire du Manitoba, Heather Gibson a lancé sa carrière dans les arts de la scène à Halifax, d’où elle a obtenu son diplôme de l’Université Dalhousie. Avant de se joindre au Centre national des Arts en 2016, Heather dirigeait sa propre compagnie de représentation d’artistes à Halifax. Elle s’est d’abord intéressée à la gestion théâtrale en 2000, et a rapidement ajouté la gestion de festivals, la gestion d’événements spéciaux et de conférences, la consultation artistique, la représentation d’artistes et la gestion de salles à son portfolio.

Heather maintient son engagement à appuyer le paysage artistique en changement perpétuel par son travail pour encadrer les artistes émergents et assurer une représentation équitable sur nos scènes pour les femmes et artistes qui s’identifient comme autochtones, noires ou des personnes de couleur.

Menu