May 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Germaine Chazou-Essindi |
Director, Diversity and Inclusion

Germaine Chazou-Essindi

Prior to joining the National Arts Centre as its first Director, Diversity and Inclusion, in May 2021, Germaine Chazou-Essindi was the Director of National Policy, Programs and Partnerships at the Department of Women and Gender Equality Canada (WAGE), responsible for more than 150 complex national projects involving diverse communities, including Indigenous women, Black women and women of colour (IBPOC), the LGBTQ2A+ community, as well as other vulnerable groups (e.g. women with disabilities). Germaine Chazou-Essindi is an accomplished leader with over 15 years of experience in managing grant and contribution programs within the federal government.

She has played a leading role at WAGE as a co-champion for diversity and inclusion. She has long worked to advance the vision of an inclusive workplace encompassing concepts and practices of accessibility, accommodation, equality, and anti-discrimination and anti-harassment. Her responsibilities included the implementation of anti-racism and anti-oppression training and the development of the departmental diversity and inclusion strategy.

Germaine has also worked to develop partnerships and networking with Indigenous communities across Canada. Her knowledge of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples has made her an important resource in the Indigenous recruitment process. An excellent communicator, she has raised awareness of inclusion and diversity issues, as well as the challenges faced by some employees.

She is known for her ability to manage challenges effectively and for her ability to bring together the views of different stakeholders. Her extensive experience and knowledge of key concepts—including gender-based analysis plus (GBA+) and intersectionality—have been appreciated by both staff and senior managers at WAGE.

Germaine holds a Specialized Bachelor’s degree in Human Sciences (Conflict Studies) from Saint Paul University. She has also completed several training sessions on diversity and inclusion issues offered by the Public Service of Canada, as well as training on mediation and negotiation offered by the Canadian Institute for Conflict Resolution.

Germaine Chazou-Essindi is the recipient of the Excellence in Innovation Award and the Inspiration Award from WAGE. She is a dynamic, committed leader with integrity who has been involved in the community since her teenage years. Her dedication has earned her three Lioness of the Year Awards from the Cameroonian Community of Canada.

Germaine lives in Ottawa with her husband and two boys.

Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa
Germaine Chazou-Essindi |
Directrice, Diversité et Inclusion

Germaine Chazou-Essindi

Avant de se joindre au Centre national des Arts en mai 2021 comme première Directrice, Diversité et Inclusion, Germaine Chazou-Essindi était Directrice des politiques nationales de programmes et partenariats au Ministère des Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada (FEGC), responsable de près de 150 projets complexes d’envergure nationale touchant diverses communautés, y compris les femmes autochtones, noires et de couleur (PANDC), la communauté LGBTQ2A+, ainsi que d’autres groupes vulnérables (p. ex. les femmes ayant un handicap). Germaine Chazou-Essindi est une leader accomplie avec plus de 15 ans d’expérience dans la gestion de programmes de subvention et contribution au sein du gouvernement fédéral.

Elle a joué un rôle de premier plan au sein de FEGC en tant que co-championne de la diversité et de l’inclusion. Elle a œuvré longtemps pour faire avancer la vision d’un lieu de travail inclusif englobant les notions et les pratiques en matière d’accessibilité, d’accommodements, d’égalité et de lutte contre la discrimination et le harcèlement. Elle était entre autres responsable de la mise en œuvre des formations sur la lutte contre le racisme et l’anti-oppression et du développement de la stratégie ministérielle sur la diversité et l’inclusion.

Germaine a aussi œuvré au développement des partenariats et du réseautage avec les communautés autochtones à travers le Canada. Ses connaissances des peuples des Premières nations, Inuits et Métis ont fait d’elle une ressource importante pour les processus de recrutement autochtone. Communicatrice hors-pair, elle a su sensibiliser le personnel aux enjeux d’inclusion et de diversité, de même qu’aux difficultés auxquelles font face certains employés.

Elle est reconnue pour sa qualité à gérer efficacement les défis et par sa capacité à faire converger les opinions des différents acteurs. Sa grande expérience et sa connaissance approfondie de concepts clés — dont l’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) et l’intersectionnalité — ont été apprécié autant par les employés que par les cadres supérieurs de FEGC.

Germaine détient un Baccalauréat Spécialisé en Sciences Humaines (Études de Confits) de l’Université Saint-Paul. Elle a également complété plusieurs formations sur des questions de diversité et inclusion offertes par la Fonction publique du Canada, ainsi que des formations sur la médiation et la négociation offertes par l’Institut canadien de résolution des conflits.

Germaine Chazou-Essindi est lauréate du Prix d’excellence en matière d’innovation et du Prix Inspiration remis par FEGC. Elle est une leader dynamique, engagée et intègre ayant œuvré dans la communauté depuis son adolescence. Son dévouement lui a d’ailleurs valu à trois reprises le Prix Lionne de l’année remis par la Communauté camerounaise du Canada.

Elle habite à Ottawa avec son mari et ses deux garçons. 

Menu