Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend
Gail O'Brien |

Gail O’Brien, LL.D.

Calgary · AB

Gail O’Brien was appointed to the National Arts Centre Board of Trustees on October 1, 2013 and is part of the Capital Planning Committee as well as the Audit and Finance Committee.

Born in Montreal, and with a Bachelors Degree in English and Fine Arts from McGill University, Gail moved to Calgary with her husband David and 3 children in 1978. Her career in fashion spanned the next 25 years including 10 years as General Manager of Holt Renfrew Calgary.

During that time Gail began her deep commitment to community involvement serving on the boards of both the YWCA of Calgary and as Vice-Chair of the Glenbow Museum. Since her retirement, she has devoted herself fulltime to the Not-for-Profit sector focusing largely on women, medicine and the arts in organizations across Canada.

Current Board commitments include: The Hospital for Sick Children Board of Trustees and Foundation Board of Directors; Co-Chair, Council for Canadian American Relations;Trustee of the National Arts Centre; Director of Business for the Arts; as well as involvement at the Faculty of Medicine, University of Calgary as Chair of the Advisory Board and member of other Institute Advisory Boards.

Past Board commitments include the National Arts Centre Foundation as Chair and the Ontario Science Centre.

Gail received the Women of Distinction Award for Business and Entrepreneurs in the year 2000. In 2010, Gail received an Honorary Doctor of Laws Degree from the University of Calgary as well as the Eric Harvey Award  from the Glenbow Museum. In September 2011, Gail received  the Alberta Medical Association Award of Honor (for a non medical person) for her contribution to Health Quality in Alberta.

Ms. O’Brien is married to David O’Brien. They have 3 children and 10 grandchildren all residing in Toronto.

Menu

Gail O'Brien |
Administratrice émérite

Gail O’Brien, LL.D.

Calgary · AB

Gail O’Brien a été nommée au conseil d’administration du Centre national des Arts le 1er octobre 2013. Elle siège aux comités de la Planification financière, de l’Audit et des Finances.

Née à Montréal où elle a obtenu un baccalauréat en anglais avec spécialisation en beaux-arts de l’Université McGill, Mme O’Brien s’est établie à Calgary en 1978 avec son mari David et leurs trois enfants. Pendant les 25 années qui ont suivi, elle a fait carrière dans la mode, occupant pendant 10 ans le poste de directrice générale de Holt Renfrew Calgary.

C’est pendant cette période qu’est né son profond engagement communautaire. Elle a siégé au conseil d’administration du Y.W.C.A Board of Calgary et a été vice-présidente du conseil d’administration du Glenbow Museum.  Maintenant à la retraite, elle se consacre entièrement aux œuvres d’organisations à but non lucratif de partout au Canada, s’attachant particulièrement aux causes reliées aux femmes, à la médecine et aux arts.

Outre son action au sein du conseil d’administration du Centre national des Arts, Mme O’Brien  siège actuellement au conseil d’administration de l’Hôpital pour enfants de Toronto et à celui de sa fondation; elle est coprésidente du conseil d’administration du Council for Canadian American Relations; et administratrice de Business for the Arts. Elle préside par ailleurs le conseil consultatif de la Faculté de médecine de l’Université de Calgary et siège au conseil consultatif d’autres instituts.

Elle a notamment présidé le conseil d’administration de la Fondation du Centre national des Arts et a été membre du conseil de l’Ontario Science Centre.

Mme O’Brien s’est vu attribuer en 2000 le Women of Distinction Award for Business and Entrepreneurs. En 2010, elle a reçu un doctorat honorifique en droit de l’Université de Calgary et le prix Eric-Harvey du Glenbow Museum. En septembre 2011, elle a récolté l’Alberta Medical Association Award  of Honor (prix décerné à une personne n’appartenant pas au corps médical) pour sa contribution au Health Quality Council of Alberta.

Gail O’Brien est l’épouse de David O’Brien. Le couple a trois enfants et 10 petits-enfants, tous établis à Toronto. 

Menu