October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
 | Christos Darlasis
Composer, vocalist, multidisciplinary artist

Gabriel Dharmoo

Gabriel Dharmoo is a composer, vocalist, improviser, interdisciplinary artist and researcher.  

After studying with Éric Morin at Université Laval, he completed studies in composition and analysis at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal with Serge Provost, graduating with two "Prix avec grande distinction", the highest honour to be awarded. His works have been performed in Canada, the USA, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Spain, Estonia, Poland, Australia, Singapore, and South Africa. He has received many awards for his compositions, including recently the Canada Council for the Arts Jules Léger Prize for his chamber work Wanmansho (2017) and the Conseil Québécois de la Musique Opus Award for his opera À chaque ventre son monstre (2018). He was also awarded the Canadian Music Centre’s Harry Freedman Recording Award (2018).

Having researched Carnatic music with four renowned masters in Chennai (India) in 2008 and 2011, his personal musical style encourages the fluidity of ideas between tradition and innovation. He has participated in many cross-cultural and inter-traditional musical projects, many being led by Sandeep Bhagwati in Montreal (Sound of Montreal, Ville étrange) and in Berlin (Zungenmusiken, Miyagi Haikus).

As a vocalist and interdisciplinary artist, his career has led him around the globe, notably with his solo show Anthropologies imaginaires, which was awarded at the Amsterdam Fringe Festival (2015) and the SummerWorks Performance Festival (2016). They also explore queer arts and drag artistry as Bijuriya (@bijuriya.drag).

He is an associate composer at the Canadian Music Centre as well as a member of SOCAN, the Canadian New Music Network and the Canadian League of Composers. Since 2015, Gabriel is a PhD candidate at Concordia University's PhD "Individualized Program" with Sandeep Bhagwati (Music), Noah Drew (Theatre) and David Howes (Anthropology).

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
 | Christos Darlasis
Compositeur, interprète, artiste multidisciplinaire

Gabriel Dharmoo

Gabriel Dharmoo est compositeur, vocaliste, improvisateur, artiste interdisciplinaire et chercheur. 

Après des études en composition auprès d’Éric Morin à l’Université Laval, il fait ses études en composition et en analyse avec Serge Provost au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal, où il obtient par deux fois le prix avec grande distinction – le plus prestigieux qui soit. Ses œuvres ont été interprétées au Canada, aux États-Unis, en France, en Allemagne, aux Pays-Bas, en Suisse, en Espagne, en Estonie, en Pologne, en Australie, à Singapour et en Afrique du Sud. Ses compositions ont souvent été primées, notamment par le Prix Jules-Léger du Conseil des arts du Canada pour Wanmansho (2017) et le Prix Opus pour l’opéra À chaque ventre son monstre (2018). Il est aussi lauréat du Prix d’enregistrement Harry-Freedman du Centre de musique canadienne (2018).

Après des recherches sur la musique carnatique auprès de quatre maîtres reconnus à Chennai (Inde), en 2008, puis en 2011, il a acquis un style musical qui encourage la fluidité entre la tradition et l’innovation. Il a participé à de nombreux projets interculturels et intertraditionnels, le plus souvent sous la direction de Sandeep Bhagwati, autant à Montréal (Sound of Montreal, Ville étrange) qu’à Berlin (Zungenmusiken, Miyagi Haikus).

En tant que vocaliste et artiste interdisciplinaire, il a été amené à voyager autour du globe, présentant entre autres son spectacle solo Anthropologies imaginaires, primé au Amsterdam Fringe Festival (2015) et au SummerWorks Performance Festival (2016). Il explore également les arts queers avec son personnage drag Bijuriya (@bijuriya.drag).

Gabriel Dharmoo est compositeur agréé au Centre de musique canadienne et membre de la SOCAN, du Réseau canadien des musiques nouvelles et de la Ligue canadienne des compositeurs. Depuis 2015, il est candidat au doctorat à l’Université Concordia (programme sur mesure) avec Sandeep Bhagwati (musique), Noah Drew (théâtre) et David Howes (anthropologie).

Menu