WATCH LIVE: G.R. Gritt at Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario (Sudbury) | Fridays at the Fourth
 |
Schulich School of Music of McGill University Orchestral Conducting Student

Frédéric Michaud

Praised for his welcoming personality, trustworthiness and attention to detail, Frédéric-Alexandre Michaud (FAM) is a versatile artist nationally recognized as a hardworking and talented conductor, violinist, radio cultural commentator, soundman, booking agent, manager, teacher and chamber musician.

He is currently pursuing a second Master’s degree in Orchestral Conducting, studying with Guillaume Bourgogne and Alain Cazes, at McGill University where he also completed in May 2019 a Master’s degree in Violin Performance with professors Mark Fewer and Alexander Read. In October 2019, he had the privilege of participating in an inspiring conducting masterclass with the internationally acclaimed French maestro François-Xavier Roth through a partnership between McGill University and the Montreal Symphony Orchestra.

A proactive and benevolent leader, Frédéric has been serving as President of his Student’s Association, the Music Graduate Students’ Society (MGSS), since 2019. In addition to his school responsibilities, he serves as Artistic Director of the Orchestre symphonique des jeunes de Joliette (OSJJ) and of his own ensemble, the Brownies Concerto Orchestra (BCO), as well as the violinist of The Élan Trio. Over the years, he had the opportunity to conduct many renown artists including Philip Chiu, Pierre Beaudry, Alexander Read, Kerson Leong, Jinjoo Cho, Ali Kian Yazdanfar, Il volo, as well as rising pop star Klô Pelgag.

Since March 2020, to share his passion for music, Frédéric developed in collaboration with his brother Benjamin Michaud a community-focused online project called “FAM, a confined maestro” in which he conducts recordings in livestreams accessible on his Facebook page. So far, there have been twenty-nine episodes of these concerts including two special events, the first presenting all the Beethoven symphonies and the second presenting all the Brahms symphonies. In addition, during the summer of 2020, he enjoys the opportunity of educating the public about classical music as the host of the weekly segment “Chronique musique avec Maestro FAM” on the Radio-Canada (CBC) radio stations in Gaspésie-Îles-de-la-Madeleine and Bas-St-Laurent. Frédéric is a versatile violinist who has performance experiences across multiple genres including baroque, classical, popular and improvised music.

For four years, he performed with the McGill Baroque Orchestra conducted by Hank Knox on period instruments and was the manager, soundman, booking agent and violinist of the pop-folk band SHYRE between 2014 and 2019. During their five years of existence, SHYRE performed in more than 150 public performances throughout Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland.

In 2017, he received a scholarship by the Gérard D. Lévesque Foundation and, in the same year, he participated in the Business and Career Development Program for Aspiring International Musicians organized by a partnership between the Père Lindsay Foundation and HEC Montreal. In 2016, he appeared on CBC Music’s list of “30 Hot Classical Musicians Under 30” and in 2013, at the end of his journey in Rimouski, he was awarded the Lieutenant Governor’s Youth Medal as a recognition for his excellent grades and exceptional commitment to the community.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 21 septembre 2021.
 |
Étudiant en direction d’orchestre de l’École de musique Schulich de l’Université McGill

Frédéric-Alexandre Michaud

Reconnu pour sa personnalité rassembleuse, sa fiabilité et son attention aux détails, Frédéric-Alexandre Michaud (FAM) est un artiste travaillant et versatile établi comme chef d’orchestre, violoniste, chroniqueur culturel, technicien de son, agent de spectacle, professeur et chambriste engagé.

Il complète présentement une seconde maîtrise en direction orchestrale sous la tutelle des Maestros Guillaume Bourgogne et Alain Cazes à l’Université McGill, où il a également complété en mai 2019 une première maîtrise en Violin Performance dans les classes de Mark Fewer et Alexander Read. En octobre 2019, il a notamment eu l’opportunité de participer à une classe de maître en direction d’orchestre très inspirante avec le chef d’orchestre de renommée internationale François-Xavier Roth grâce à une collaboration entre l’Université McGill et l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal.

Frédéric est un dirigeant dynamique et généreux, c’est avec cette personnalité qu'il préside son association étudiante, le Music Graduate Students’ Society (MGSS) depuis 2019. En parallèle à ses études universitaires, il est présentement le directeur artistique de l’Orchestre symphonique des jeunes de Joliette (OSJJ), du Brownies Concerto Orchestra (BCO) ainsi que le violoniste du Trio élan. À travers les années, il a eu l’occasion de diriger plusieurs artistes de renom incluant Philip Chiu, Pierre Beaudry, Alexander Read, Kerson Leong, Jinjoo Cho, Ali Kian Yazdanfar, Il volo ainsi que l’artiste émergente québécoise Klô Pelgag.

Depuis mars 2020, il co-anime en compagnie de son frère Benjamin Michaud un projet convivial en ligne appelé «FAM, un maestro en confinement», où il dirige des enregistrements en direct sur sa page Facebook. Jusqu’à présent, il y a eu 29 épisodes de ces concerts incluant deux événements spéciaux, le premier présentant l’ensemble des symphonies de Beethoven et le second présentant toutes les symphonies de Brahms. De plus, tout au long de l'été 2020, il a l’occasion d’éduquer le public à la musique classique hebdomadairement lors de la « Chronique musique avec Maestro FAM » sur les ondes d’ICI Radio-Canada première Gaspésie-Îles-de-la-Madeleine et Bas-St-Laurent. Frédéric est un violoniste versatile qui a de l’expérience sur scène dans plusieurs styles musicaux incluant la musique baroque, classique, improvisée et populaire.

Il fut membre pendant quatre ans du McGill Baroque Orchestra dirigé par Hank Knox sur instrument d’époque ainsi que le violoniste, technicien de son et agent de spectacle du groupe de musique « pop-folk » SHYRE entre 2014 et 2019. Durant ses cinq années d’existence, SHYRE a présenté plus de 150 prestations publiques au Québec, au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse et à Terre-Neuve.

En 2017, il est récipiendaire de la bourse Gérard D. Lévesque et, cette même année, il participe au programme de Formation pour musicien de calibre international organisé par une collaboration entre la Fondation du Père Lindsay et HEC Montréal. En 2016, il a été nommé comme un des « 30 Hot Classical Musicians Under 30 » par CBC music et, à la fin de son parcours rimouskois en 2013, il a été récompensé de la Médaille du Lieutenant-gouverneur pour la Jeunesse octroyée à une personne méritante pour son excellence scolaire et son implication sociale exceptionnelle dans la communauté.

Menu