Frédéric Lacroix | William Meekins
piano

Frédéric Lacroix

Frédéric Lacroix has performed in Canada, the United States, Europe and Asia as a soloist, chamber musician and collaborative pianist. He is a frequent collaborator with members of the NAC Orchestra both in chamber music and recitals, having first performed in the Music for a Sunday Afternoon concert series in 2015. This past September, he curated, as fortepianist (and composer), the late-night concerts of the NAC Orchestra’s Beethoven Festival.

Following the University of Ottawa’s purchase of a fortepiano, he has devoted part of his time to the study and performance of music on period keyboard instruments, for which he was recognized as the Westfield Center Performing Scholar for 2008–2009. He has presented numerous concerts in Canada and the United States as harpsichordist and fortepianist.

Intrigued by the seemingly infinite diversity of new music, Lacroix has enjoyed collaborating with composers and performers in the premiere of a number of Canadian and American works. Also active as a composer, his song cycle, Nova Scotia Tartan (2004), is featured on Hail, a disc dedicated to Canadian Art Song.

Frédéric Lacroix teaches piano and composition at the University of Ottawa. He recently completed his doctorate degree in keyboard performance practice with Malcolm Bilson at Cornell University.

Menu

Frédéric Lacroix | William Meekins
piano

Frédéric Lacroix

Frédéric Lacroix s’est produit en concert partout au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Europe et en Asie comme soliste, chambriste et pianiste collaborateur. Il joue fréquemment avec des musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA dans le cadre de récitals et de concerts de musique de chambre. Sa première participation à la série Musique pour un dimanche après-midi a eu lieu en 2015. En septembre dernier, il a dirigé les récitals d’après-concert du Festival Beethoven de l’Orchestre du CNA, dans lesquels il s’est produit au piano‑forte. 

À la suite de l’achat d’un piano-forte par l’Université d’Ottawa, M. Lacroix a dévoué une partie de son temps à l’étude et à l’interprétation d’instruments de l’époque classique, travail pour lequel il a reçu le titre de « Westfield Center Performing Scholar » en 2008–2009. Il a donné de multiples concerts au Canada et aux États-Unis comme claveciniste et joueur de piano‑forte.

Intrigué par la diversité musicale quasi infinie de la musique nouvelle, M. Lacroix a collaboré avec plusieurs compositeurs et interprètes à la création d’œuvres canadiennes et américaines. Il est également actif en tant que compositeur. Son cycle de mélodie, Nova Scotia Tartan (2004), est présenté sur Hail, disque consacré à la mélodie et à la poésie canadienne.

Frédéric Lacroix enseigne le piano et la composition à l’Université d’Ottawa. Il a récemment terminé ses études doctorales en interprétation d’instruments à clavier, sous la tutelle de Malcolm Bilson, à l’Université Cornell.

Menu