October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Florence Price |
Composer

Florence Price

United States

Florence Price (1887–1953)

Florence Price was an American composer, pianist, organist, and teacher. She created over 300 works, including for orchestra, various combinations of chamber ensemble, choir, voice and piano, organ, and solo piano. Her compositions often blend Euro-American art music forms with elements from her African American heritage, such as melodies that reference those of spirituals.

During her life, Price was the first African American woman to earn major recognition as a symphonic composer. However, despite her successes, she struggled to have her works widely performed, and openly acknowledged that her being a woman and a person of colour were barriers. Much of her catalogue was neglected after her death, but in recent years, new research about her life and work and the revival of her compositions in performance have begun to more fully illuminate her contributions to American music.

Price (née Smith) was born in Little Rock, Arkansas, on April 9, 1887, during a period when white supremacy was being restored in the South. Her mother was her first music teacher, who carefully nurtured her talent. Price went on to study composition at Boston’s New England Conservatory, one of the few institutions that admitted African Americans at the time. After earning diplomas in organ and piano, she returned to the South to teach and compose. In 1928, to escape growing racial oppression in Little Rock, Price and her family moved to Chicago. There, she flourished creatively; she won prizes and publication contracts for her piano pieces, penned popular songs for radio commercials, and arranged spirituals for performance. In 1931, she began writing symphonies. Her Symphony in E Minor won the Wanamaker Prize in 1932, which led to its performance by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra conducted by Frederick Stock—the first work by a Black woman composer to be performed by a major American orchestra.

The success of her E Minor symphony cemented Price’s reputation and her orchestral works were subsequently performed by ensembles such as the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Detroit Symphony Orchestra, American Symphony Orchestra, and Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra. Celebrated singers such as Marion Anderson and Leontyne Price interpreted her songs, and her organ and piano pieces, which she also taught, were regularly performed. Price remained active as a composer and teacher until her death in Chicago on June 9, 1953.

 

By Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Menu

Florence Price |
Compositrice

Florence Price

États-Unis

Florence Price (1887–1953)

Florence Price était une compositrice, pianiste, organiste et pédagogue américaine. Elle a produit un catalogue de plus de 300 pièces, dont des œuvres pour orchestre, pour différentes combinaisons d’ensembles de chambre, pour chœur, pour voix et piano, pour orgue, et pour piano seul. Ses compositions mêlent souvent les traditions musicales américano-européennes avec des éléments tirés de son héritage afro-américain, dont des mélodies qui font écho à celles de spirituals.

De son vivant, Price est devenue la première femme afro-américaine à être reconnue comme compositrice de musique symphonique. Toutefois, en dépit de ses succès d’estime, elle a peiné à faire exécuter régulièrement ses œuvres, et elle ne cachait pas le fait qu’être une femme et une Noire constituaient des obstacles majeurs. Une grande partie de son catalogue est plus ou moins tombée dans l’oubli après sa mort, mais depuis quelques années, de nouvelles recherches sur sa vie et son œuvre et un regain d’intérêt pour ses compositions dans la programmation des concerts ont commencé à éclairer sous un jour nouveau ses apports à la musique américaine.

Florence Price (née Smith) est née à Little Rock, dans l’Arkansas, le 9 avril 1887, dans une période où la suprématie blanche avait été rétablie dans les États du Sud. Sa mère fut sa première professeure de musique et cultiva son talent avec soin. Price poursuivit par la suite des études de composition au New England Conservatory de Boston, l’une des rares institutions qui acceptaient des Afro-américains à l’époque. Après avoir obtenu ses diplômes en orgue et en piano, elle retourna dans le Sud pour enseigner et composer. En 1928, pour échapper à la discrimination raciale croissante qui sévissait à Little Rock, Price et sa famille ont déménagé à Chicago. C’est dans la ville des vents que sa créativité s’est épanouie : elle a décroché des prix et des contrats d’édition pour ses pièces pour piano, écrit des chansons populaires pour les radios commerciales, et arrangé des spirituals en vue de concerts. En 1931, elle a commencé à écrire des symphonies. Sa Symphonie en mi mineur a remporté le prix de la fondation Wanamaker en 1932, et elle a subséquemment été exécutée par l’Orchestre symphonique de Chicago, sous la direction de Frederick Stock, devenant ainsi la première œuvre d’une compositrice noire jouée par un orchestre américain de premier plan.

Le succès de sa Symphonie en mi mineur a consolidé la renommée de Price, et ses œuvres pour orchestre ont par la suite été jouées par des ensembles comme l’Orchestre symphonique de Chicago, l’Orchestre symphonique de Detroit, l’American Symphony Orchestra, et l’Orchestre symphonique de Pittsburgh. Des chanteuses aussi célèbres que Marion Anderson et Leontyne Price ont interprété ses mélodies, et ses pièces pour orgue et pour piano, instruments qu’elle enseignait également, ont été jouées régulièrement. Price est demeurée active comme compositrice et enseignante jusqu’à sa mort, à Chicago, le 9 juin 1953.

 

Rédigée par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

Menu