November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
 | Chris Van der Burght
Composer

Fabrizio Cassol

For twentyfive years, Fabrizio Cassol is the composer and saxophonist of the band Aka Moon.

 

He has often worked with choreographers such as Alain Platel (les ballets C de la B – vsprs, pitié!, Coup Fatal), Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (Rosas),  the Samoan Lemi Ponifasio (Mao Company), the Congolese Faustin Linyekula (studio Kaboka). In opera, he already worked with Philippe Boesman-Luc Bondy, in theatre with Tg Stan.

 

His close collaboration with KVS, the Flemish Royal Theatre, when led by Jan Goossens, was followed by an artistic residence in the opera De Munt La Monnaie (Brussels) led by Bernard Foccroulle.

 

Since 2012, he has been artist in residence at the Fondation de l'Abbaye Royaumont near Paris to continue studying world cultures. His particular interest in non-European music started after a trip to the Aka pygmies in Central Africa in 1992 and expanded to Asia (especially India) and Africa where he worked with the diva from Mali Oumou Sangare, the Griot Baba Sissoko and the Black Machine, the Indian master of percussion U. K. Sivaraman and the Senegalese Doudou N'Diaye Rose. As for the improvised music scene, he worked with Marc Turner, Robin Eubanks, David Gilmore, Magic Malik, Marc Ducret and Joe Lovano.


Together with DJ Grazzhoppa, he created the first big band with 14 DJs and participated in the concept of the aulochrome, a new polyphonic and chromatic woodwind instrument built by François Louis.
He passes on his extensive knowledge of music from oral and written traditions, of chamber music or symphonic work in workshops and master classes all over the world, such as: at the Conservatoire National Supérieur in Paris, the Royal Academy in London, the Conservatory in Jerusalem, in Alger, Beijing, Berlin, Chennai, Tunis and Royaumont.


In 2017 he released with Aka Moon a collector box as celebration of their 25th anniversary, inclusive the new album ‘Now’ that returns to the roots of the group, presenting the original trio playing together.

Menu

| Chris Van der Burght
Compositeur

Fabrizio Cassol

Fabrizio Cassol est compositeur et saxophoniste du groupe Aka Moon depuis 25 ans.


Il s'associe régulièrement à des chorégraphes tels que Alain Platel (les ballets C de la B - vsprs, pitié!, Coup Fatal),  Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (Rosas), le Samoa Lemi Ponifasio (Mao Company),  le congolais Faustin Linyekula (studio Kabako);  l'opéra avec Philippe Boesmans-Luc Bondy et le théâtre avec Tg Stan.


Depuis plusieurs années, la collaboration avec le KVS, le théâtre Royal Flamand de Bruxelles sous la direction de Jan Goossens, a fait suite à une résidence à l'opéra La Monnaie-De Munt (Bruxelles) sous la direction de Bernard Foccroulle.


Depuis 2012, il est en résidence à la Fondation de l'Abbaye Royaumont près de Paris où il prolonge l'étude des cultures du monde. Cet intérêt pour les musiques non-européennes s'est surtout déclenché après un voyage déterminant chez les Pygmées Aka de la république Centre Afrique en 1992 et des voyages en Asie (principalement l'Inde) et en Afrique travaillant avec la diva malienne Oumou Sangare, le Griot Baba Sissoko et les Black Machine, le maître percussionniste indien U.K Sivaraman et le sénégalais Doudou N'Diaye Rose. En ce qui concerne la scène des musiques improvisées ; Fabrizio Cassol a travaillé avec Marc Turner, Robin Eubanks, David Gilmore, Magic Malik, Marc Ducret et Joe Lovano.


Avec le Dj Grazzhoppa il crée le premier bigband de 14 DJs et avec le fabricant d'instruments François Louis il participe à la conception de l'Aulochrome, premier instrument à vent chromatiquement polyphonique.


Sa pratique des expressions issus de l'oralité et de l'écriture, de la musique de chambre aux œuvres symphoniques,  l'amène à donner régulièrement des ateliers ou master-classes un peu partout dans le monde ; par exemple au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Paris, à la Royal Academy de Londres, au Conservatoire de Jérusalem, Alger, Beijing, Berlin, Chiennai, Tunis et Royaumont.


En 2017, il a sorti un coffret collectionneur avec Aka Moon pour célébrer leur 25e anniversaire, y compris leur nouvel album ‘Now’, qui est un retour aux sources du groupe, présentant le trio original jouant ensemble.

Menu