|
Disability Curatorial Advisor

Erin Clark

Erin Clark is a performance artist, author and world champion athlete. Erin is internationally trained in aerial dance, theatre and performance. 

In NYC, as part of the aerial comedy duo Flaming Mermaid Broken Star (2013-2015), Erin created the persona of "International Sex Icon" to explore the relationship between disability and sexuality, power and social status.

When she left NYC, Erin continued to perform as an International Sex Icon across social media using selfies to play with her place/role/positioning in physical and digital space. Her self-portraits and short films, focused on de-sentimentalizing her physical body and it’s shapes and movements, have been featured in digital art spaces such as Deaf Poets Society and Corporeal Khôra

While living in Spain, Erin added pole sports to her aerial repertoire and became a two-time national champion (2017, 2018), and the wheelchair parapole world champion in 2018, setting an undefeated world record. She documented and published the training and competition process as an act of resistance to the ways that her accomplishments as a disabled person were being co-opted and tokenized.

Erin became a paragliding pilot where she transformed a broken wheelchair into one that can fly. She wrote the story of her life and flying wheelchair in If You Really Love Me, Throw Me Off the Mountain (EyeCorner Press, 2020). During the Disability Filibuster broadcast in 2021, Erin performed a live reading of her book for seven, unbroken hours while lying in bed. She was accompanied by ASL interpreters and live captions. 

Erin is an award-winning nonfiction writer and the co-author of the upcoming The Breakup Artist (Audible). Her essays on disability tropes and representation in arts and entertainment have appeared in CBC, Gay Mag, and Refinery29. 

Menu

|
Expertise-conseil en accessibilité des arts

Erin Clark

Artiste de scène, autrice et athlète championne du monde, Erin Clark a suivi des formations en danse aérienne, en théâtre et en performance partout dans le monde.

À New York, dans le cadre du duo aérien comique Flaming Mermaid Broken Star (2013-2015), Erin a créé un personnage de « sexe-symbole international » afin d’explorer les liens entre handicap et sexualité, pouvoir et statut social.

Lorsqu’elle a quitté la ville de New York, Erin a continué à incarner son personnage de sexe-symbole sur les médias sociaux, utilisant des égoportraits pour jouer avec sa place, son rôle et son positionnement dans l’espace physique et numérique. Ses autoportraits et courts métrages tentent de rompre avec la vision sentimentale du corps physique, de ses formes et de ses mouvements, et ont été présentés dans divers espaces numériques, comme Deaf Poets Society et Corporeal Khôra

Alors qu’elle vivait en Espagne, Erin a ajouté les sports sur barre verticale à son répertoire aérien. Elle a été championne nationale à deux reprises (2017 et 2018) et championne mondiale de sport sur barre verticale (parapole) en fauteuil roulant en 2018, établissant ainsi un record encore inégalé. Elle a documenté et publié son processus d’entraînement et de compétition pour contester la manière dont ses réalisations, en tant que personne en situation de handicap, étaient récupérées et utilisées de façon purement symbolique.

Erin est devenue une pilote de parapente en transformant elle-même un fauteuil roulant cassé en un fauteuil pouvant voler. Elle a écrit l’histoire de sa vie et du fauteuil roulant volant dans If You Really Love Me, Throw Me Off the Mountain (EyeCorner Press, 2020). Lors de la diffusion en ligne de l’initiative « Disability Filibuster » en 2021, Erin a lu son livre en direct pendant sept heures de suite, étendue dans son lit. Elle était accompagnée d’interprètes en ASL, et des sous-titres étaient présentés à l’écran.

Erin est une autrice primée d’ouvrages non romanesques et co-publiera prochainement The Breakup Artist (sur Audible). Ses articles sur les stéréotypes et la représentation des personnes en situation de handicap dans le secteur des arts et du divertissement ont paru sur le site de la CBC, et dans Gay Mag et Refinery29

Menu