Emily Westell

Canadian violinist Emily Westell has established herself as a versatile musician. Since her debut as soloist with the Calgary Philharmonic at age 15, she has performed as soloist and conductor with the Orchestre de chambre de Paris, and has played concerti with the Tanglewood, Banff Festival, and University of Calgary Orchestras. A winner of the 2012 Canada Council for the Arts Musical Instrument Bank Competition (loan of the 1717 Windsor-Weinstein Stradivari), she was awarded the 2013 “Astral Artist Prize” from Canada’s National Arts Centre. Westell has performed chamber music and solo recitals in Paris (Cité de la Musique), New York (Carnegie’s Weill Recital Hall), Boston (Jordan Hall), and the Netherlands (International Holland Music Sessions). Her concerts have been broadcast on CBC and Radio-Canada.

Westell has performed at the festivals of Prussia Cove, Norfolk, Spoleto USA, Orford, Meadowmount, and Lanaudiere. An advocate for new music, Westell has performed with the Harvard Group for New Music, Columbia Composers, Boston’s Callithumpian Consort, and on the Land’s End Chamber Ensemble CD, Rollin’ Down #1, winner of the Western Canada Music Award for “Outstanding Classical Album.” She is a former instructor of violin and chamber music at McGill University.

Westell recently completed post-doctoral Professional Studies with Pinchas Zukerman in the Manhattan School of Music’s prestigious Zukerman Performance Program on a President’s Award. Her previous teachers include Edmond Agopian, Miriam Fried, and Jonathan Crow. Westell holds a Doctor of Music degree from McGill University (where she was a SSHRC Doctoral Fellow), a Master’s degree from the New England Conservatory and the Fine Arts gold medal from the University of Calgary, for the top graduate.

|
Violin

Emily Westell

La violoniste canadienne Emily Westell est reconnue pour sa polyvalence. Après des débuts comme soliste avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de Calgary à 15 ans, elle s’est produite avec l’Orchestre de chambre de Paris (comme soliste et chef d’orchestre) ainsi qu’avec les orchestres de Tanglewood, du festival de Banff et de l’Université de Calgary. Lauréate 2012 du concours de la Banque d’instruments de musique du Conseil des arts du Canada (pour le prêt du violon Stradivarius Windsor-Weinstein de 1717), elle a aussi reçu le prix Artiste Astral du Centre national des Arts en 2013. Elle a donné des concerts de musique de chambre et des récitals solos à Paris (Cité de la Musique), à New York (salle Weil de Carnegie Hall), à Boston (Jordan Hall) et aux Pays-Bas (International Holland Music Sessions). Ses concerts ont été diffusés sur les ondes de CBC et Radio-Canada.

Emily Westell a participé aux festivals de Prussia Cove (Angleterre), de Norfolk, Spoleto et Meadowmount (É.-U.) ainsi que d’Orford et de Lanaudière (Québec). Passionnée de musique contemporaine, elle s’est produite avec le Harvard Group for New Music, les Columbia Composers et le Callithumpian Consort de Boston. On peut également l’entendre sur le CD  Rollin’ Down #1 de l’ensemble de musique de chambre Land’s End, lauréat d’un Western Canada Music Award dans la catégorie « Album classique exceptionnel ». Mme Westell a aussi enseigné le violon et la musique de chambre à l’Université McGill.

Elle a récemment terminé des études postdoctorales auprès de Pinchas Zukerman au prestigieux programme Zukerman de la Manhattan School of Music, où elle a obtenu une Bourse du président. Figurent également au nombre de ses anciens maîtres Edmond Agopian, Miriam Fried et Jonathan Crow. Emily Westell détient un doctorat en musique de l’Université McGill (où elle était boursière du CRSH), une maîtrise du Conservatoire de musique de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et la médaille d’or remise par la Faculté des beaux-arts de l’Université de Calgary pour les meilleurs résultats scolaires.  

www.emilywestell.wix.com/violinist

Menu