50% OFF subscriptions - 2 days only - Don't miss it!
Diane Dufresne | Philippe Evenou
singer

Diane Dufresne

The incomparable Diane Dufresne is in a class of her own, having been a multidisciplinary creator long before the term became fashionable.

From her beginnings as the fresh new face of song, as she was described in the late 1960s by Quebec entertainment magazine Photo-Vedettes, to her current Diva status, with spells as Quebec’s first female rocker and as the goddess of the Olympic Stadium in 1984, Diane Dufresne has always been able to reinvent herself by exploring genres – song, rock, pop, symphonic music – and by continually updating her artistic approach.

She was born in 1944 in the Hochelaga-Maisonneuve district of Montreal and began performing in Paris in the mid-1960s. The Dufresne revolution began in 1972, when she morphed from being only a singer into a brilliant stage performer who could rock in joual street slang and make every show a monumental and memorable event.

Her accomplishments are impressive: in 1980, she was the first Quebec chanteuse to perform at the Montreal Forum with her show J’me mets sur mon 36, and the first Quebec woman to fill the Olympic Stadium – in her unforgettable Magie rose concert in 1984, with an audience of 55,000, all dressed in pink, cheering her on. These theatrical happenings, with flamboyant designer costumes, made history. Dufresne also created the role of Stella Spotlight on the 1978 LP of Starmania, the legendary rock opera by Luc Plamondon and Michel Berger. She also performed the role in the show’s 1979 debut run in Paris.

Diane Dufresne has performed in Quebec, France, Belgium, Switzerland, Africa and Japan, and worked with many illustrious artists – Serge Gainsbourg, Georges Brassens, Juliette Gréco, Michel Jonasz, Jacques Higelin, Claude Nougaro, Alain Bashung, Pierre Grosz and, of course, François Cousineau and Luc Plamondon. She is also an accomplished songwriter who wrote many of her own hits.

In the 1970s, while continuing her career as a singer, she began to paint and worked at Brother Jérôme’s studio, an encounter that had a marked impact on her artistic endeavours and enabled her to explore other creative facets.  She has presented more than 25 solo exhibitions in Quebec, France and the United States since 1993.

In the 1990s and 2000s, she performed concept shows in Quebec and throughout the Francophonie (Réservé; En liberté conditionnelle; Diane Dufresne chante Kurt Weill, with the Orchestre Métropolitain conducted by Yannick Nézet-Séguin; Plurielle; Effusions, which combines songs with the visual arts; Terre planète bleue; and Sinéquanone).

In 2017, she performed in Montréal sym-phonique, a huge outdoor concert at the foot of Mount Royal as part of the festivities celebrating Montreal’s 375th anniversary.

In 2018, she released Meilleur après, an album of original songs. Diane Dufresne’s performance this evening is her first with the NAC Orchestra.

Menu

Diane Dufresne | Philippe Evenou
chanteuse

Diane Dufresne

À la fois inclassable et dans une classe à part, Diane Dufresne a été une créatrice multidisciplinaire avant même que ce terme ne soit à la mode.

De la rose fraîche de la chanson, comme l’appelait le journal Photo-Vedettes à la fin des années 60, à la Diva en passant par la première chanteuse rock du Québec et la déesse du Stade olympique en 1984, Diane Dufresne a su se réinventer, explorant les genres – chanson, rock, pop, musique symphonique – et actualisant constamment sa démarche artistique.

Née en 1944 dans le quartier Hochelaga-Maisonneuve, à Montréal, Diane Dufresne a fait ses débuts à Paris au milieu des années 1960. C’est en 1972 que la révolution Dufresne se met en place. De chanteuse straight, elle se transforme en redoutable bête de scène qui fait rocker le joual et qui fait de chaque spectacle un moment à marquer d’une pierre blanche.

Ses faits d’armes sont impressionnants : elle a été la première chanteuse québécoise à l’affiche du Forum de Montréal en 1980, avec son spectacle J’me mets sur mon 36, et la première Québécoise à remplir le Stade olympique, en 1984, dans le cadre de l’inoubliable concert Magie rose, où 55 000 spectateurs vêtus de rose sont venus l’acclamer. Ces happenings intégrant des éléments théâtraux et des costumes flamboyants signés par de grands créateurs marqueront l’histoire. Diane Dufresne a par ailleurs interprété le personnage de Stella Spotlight dans le mythique opéra rock Starmania du tandem Plamondon-Berger sur disque (1978) et à la création du spectacle à Paris en 1979.

Au cours de sa carrière, Diane Dufresne a chanté au Québec, en France, en Belgique, en Suisse, en Afrique et au Japon, et collaboré avec des artistes de premier plan – Serge Gainsbourg, Georges Brassens, Juliette Gréco, Michel Jonasz, Jacques Higelin, Claude Nougaro, Alain Bashung, Pierre Grosz et bien sur François Cousineau et Luc Plamondon. C’est aussi une auteure accomplie qui a signé plusieurs de ses grands succès.

Dès les années 1970, parallèlement à sa carrière de chanteuse, elle se consacre à la peinture et fréquente l’atelier du frère Jérôme, une rencontre qui se révélera déterminante dans son parcours d’artiste et qui lui permettra d’explorer d’autres facettes de la création. Depuis 1993, elle a présenté plus de 25 expositions solos au Québec, en France et aux États‑Unis.

Au cours des années 1990 et 2000, elle présente des spectacles concepts au Québec et dans toute la francophonie (Réservé, En liberté conditionnelle, Diane Dufresne chante Kurt Weill, avec l’Orchestre Métropolitain, dirigé par Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Plurielle, Effusions, qui intègre la chanson et les arts visuels, Terre planète bleue, Sinéquanone).

En 2017, elle participe au grand concert Montréal symphonique, présenté au pied du Mont-Royal dans le cadre des festivités soulignant le 375e anniversaire de Montréal.

En 2018, l’artiste lance Meilleur après, un album de chansons originales. Diane Dufresne fait ce soir ses débuts avec l’Orchestre du CNA.

Menu