|
Viola

David Thies-Thompson

David was born in Kenya where his father served as a missionary doctor. When David was 5 years old his family moved back to Canada and settled in Victoria, BC. David began violin lessons at the age of 7, first by Suzuki method, and later at the Victoria Conservatory of Music (VCM) with Sydney Humphreys. He received diplomas from the VCM and the Royal Conservatory of Music.

Focused on orchestral playing, David particularly enjoyed his studies at the Los Angeles Philharmonic Institute, the National Youth Orchestra of Canada, McGill University, and the Eastman School of Music. His teachers have included Mauricio Fuks and Stuart Knussen for orchestral coaching.

His professional orchestral life began at the age of 15 as a violinist with the Victoria Symphony. After a brief hiatus for more schooling, he joined Symphony Nova Scotia in 1988. In 1990, David left Halifax for Ottawa to take a position in the National Arts Centre Orchestra (NACO) as a violinist. After 18 years in the NACO’s violin section, David looked for a new musical challenge and thus, in 2008, he changed instruments and joined the viola section. In addition to his current position in the NACO, David has also appeared as a guest musician with other orchestras and chamber ensembles including the Winnipeg Symphony, the Gryphon Trio, and the Berlin Philharmonic. 

David has performed as concertmaster with Thirteen Strings, the Ottawa Symphony Orchestra, and the Opera Lyra Ottawa Orchestra. He frequently appears on the National Arts Centre’s 'Music for a Sunday Afternoon' series, and at the Ottawa Chamber Music Festival, the Music and Beyond Festival, and more recently the Festival aux iles du Bic.

David also enjoys conducting. He served as Music Director of the Ottawa Chamber Orchestra from 1999 to 2013 and now conducts the NACO Players Association Fanfair concert. He is also a key coordinator for the annual fundraising campaign for The Ottawa FoodBank and the Snowsuit Fund.  

David is an active member of Christ Church Cathedral Ottawa, where he is now the Artistic Director of the Cathedral’s eclectic, multi-disciplinary Cathedral Arts program. David enjoys an active teaching studio, gardening, and spending time with his family.

Menu

|
Alto

David Thies-Thompson

David Thies-Thompson est né au Kenya, où son père était médecin missionnaire. Il avait cinq ans quand sa famille est arrivée au Canada, où elle s’est installée à Victoria (C.-B.). David a commencé à prendre des leçons de violon à sept ans, d’abord selon la méthode Suzuki, puis au Conservatoire de musique de Victoria (CMV) dans la classe de Sydney Humphreys. Il est diplômé du CMV et du Conservatoire royal de musique de Toronto.

 

Poursuivant principalement une carrière de musicien d’orchestre, David garde un souvenir particulièrement heureux de la formation qu’il a reçue au Los Angeles Philharmonic Institute, à l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada, à l’Université McGill et à l’Eastman School of Music. Il a eu notamment pour professeurs Mauricio Fuks et Stuart Knussen en musique orchestrale.

 

Il a amorcé sa carrière de musicien d’orchestre à 15 ans comme violoniste au sein de l’Orchestre symphonique de Victoria. Après une pause pour poursuivre ses études,  il a joint les rangs du Symphony Nova Scotia en 1988. En 1990, il a quitté Halifax pour s’établir à Ottawa où il est entré comme violoniste à l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts. Après 18 années passées dans la section des violons, il a voulu relever un nouveau défi musical. C’est ainsi qu’en 2008, il s’est joint à la section des altos. En plus de son poste actuel à l’Orchestre du CNA, David s’est produit comme musicien invité avec divers orchestres et ensembles de musique de chambre dont l’Orchestre symphonique de Winnipeg, le Trio Gryphon et l’Orchestre philharmonique de Berlin.  

 

Il a par ailleurs tenu le rôle de violon solo avec l’ensemble Thirteen Strings, à l’Orchestre symphonique d’Ottawa et à l’orchestre d’Opéra Lyra Ottawa. Il collabore souvent à la série Musique pour un dimanche après-midi de l’Orchestre du CNA, au Chamberfest d’Ottawa et au festival Musique et autres mondes, et il s’est produit récemment aux Concerts aux îles du Bic.

 

David a une autre corde à son… archet : la direction. Il a été directeur musical de l’Ottawa Chamber Orchestra de 1999 à 2013, et c’est lui qui dirige maintenant le concert de la Fanfoire de l’Association des musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA. Il est aussi un coordonnateur clé de la campagne annuelle de financement de la Banque d’alimentation d’Ottawa et du Fonds Habineige.

  

Il participe activement aux activités de la cathédrale Christ Church d’Ottawa, qui a un éclectique programme d’art multidisciplinaire dont il assure la direction artistique. David fait beaucoup d’enseignement et s’adonne au jardinage. Il affectionne les moments passés en famille.

Menu