Director of Operations

David Mc Cuaig

As Director of Operations at the National Arts Centre, Mr. Mc Cuaig is responsible for managing and operating the National Art Centre facilities. This includes building maintenance, security, parking, construction and improvements, and planning to meet the future needs of the Centre.

Previous to joining the NAC in 2011, David Mc Cuaig was Regional Director for Defence Construction Canada for 10 years. In that capacity, he led a team of over 200 professionals providing infrastructure-related services to the Canadian Forces and the Department of National Defence. He oversaw a $60M annual construction program in the National Capital Region, the Canadian Arctic, and overseas. He proudly supported deployed Canadian Forces with construction engineering and logistical support in Bosnia, Afghanistan, and other challenging locations around the world.

As Project Manager at the Casino du Lac Leamy from 1995 to 2000, and Ottawa Community Housing from 1990 to 1995, David Mc Cuaig managed capital projects and improvements to a wide range of building types, facilities, and properties. Prior to this, he began his career as Project Manager and part-owner of a modular construction company, operating mostly in the Northeast United States.

Mr. Mc Cuaig has been active in academia as a Lecturer in the Masters in Project Management (MPM) Program at l’Université du Québec, as well as a part-time Professor at la Cité Collégiale in Ottawa. He has lectured on construction management, Critical Path and Logical Framework methodologies, project selection and identification methods, managing troubled projects, and feasibility studies.

David Mc Cuaig is an Architectural Technologist, earned a Master’s Degree in Project Management from l’Université du Québec, is a graduate of the Executive Program at the Queens School of Business, and the DND Defence Resource Management Program. He has been certified a Gold Seal Owner’s Project Manager by the Canadian Construction Association, and granted the designation of Project Management Professional by the Project Management Institute.

directeur de l’Exploitation

David Mc Cuaig

À titre de directeur de l’Exploitation du Centre national des Arts, M. Mc Cuaig est responsable de la gestion et de l’exploitation des installations du Centre national des Arts, et notamment de l’entretien des immeubles, de la sécurité, du stationnement, de la construction et des projets d’améliorations, et de la planification en vue de répondre aux besoins futurs du CNA.

Avant d’intégrer l’équipe du CNA en 2011, David Mc Cuaig avait occupé pendant dix ans le poste de directeur régional de Construction de Défense Canada. Il avait, à ce titre, dirigé une équipe de plus de 200 professionnels dans la prestation de services d’infrastructures aux Forces canadiennes et au ministère de la Défense nationale. Il était chargé d’un programme de construction annuelle de 60 millions de dollars ciblant la région de la capitale nationale, le Canada arctique et l’étranger. Il a fièrement appuyé le déploiement des Forces canadiennes en leur fournissant un soutien logistique et de génie construction en Bosnie, en Afghanistan et dans d’autres endroits problématiques à travers le monde.

À titre de gestionnaire de projet au Casino du Lac Leamy (1995-2000) et pour Logement Communautaire d’Ottawa (1990-1995), M. Mc Cuaig a géré des projets d’immobilisations et d’améliorations visant divers types d’immeubles, d’installations et de propriétés. Il avait commencé sa carrière à titre de gestionnaires de projet et de propriétaire partiaire d’une compagnie de construction modulaire qui desservait principalement le Nord-Est des États-Unis.

Il a été actif dans le milieu universitaire à titre chargé de cours au programme de maîtrise en gestion de projet de l’Université du Québec, de même que professeur à temps partiel à La Cité collégiale, à Ottawa. Il a donné des conférences sur la gérance de construction, la méthode du cheminement critique, l’analyse de cadre logique, de sélection et d’identification de projets, de même que sur la gestion de projets problématiques et les études de faisabilité.

David Mc Cuaig est technologue en architecture. Il est titulaire d’une maîtrise en gestion de projet de l’Université du Québec et est finissant du programme exécutif de la Queen’s School of Business, ainsi que le programme de la Défense Nationale sur la gestion de ressources. Il a obtenu la certification Sceau d’or de l’Association canadienne de la construction et a reçu le titre de Professionnel en gestion de projet du Project Management Institute.

Menu