50% OFF subscriptions - 2 days only - Don't miss it! (Starting in:
)
 |
Associate Principal Viola

David Marks

In 2014, after 12 years living abroad, violist David Marks returned to Canada to accept the position of Associate Principal with the NAC Orchestra.  Born in Vancouver, David grew up in Virginia in the heart of a musical family.  From an early age he experimented with composing, writing, drawing and painting; these passions have resulted in dozens of original songs, paintings and murals.  Viola studies took him across the US and Europe for lessons with Roberto Diaz, Atar Arad, Karen Tuttle, Gerard Caussé, Thomas Riebl and Nobuko Imai, to the Banff Centre, L'Académie de Musique Tibor Varga and Prussia Cove.  

In Europe, David performed as Principal Viola with L'Orchestre de Montpellier and L'Opera de Bordeaux, La Orquesta de la Ciudad de Granada, Holland Symfonia and Amsterdam Sinfonietta.  He was Principal Viola of the London Philharmonic under the batons of Vladimir Jurowski, Christoph Eschenbach, Yannick Nezet-Seguin and Marin Alsop.  As a fixture on the contemporary music scene, he performed across Europe with the Asko/Schonberg Ensemble, Ensemble Modern, Mondriaan Quartet, Fabrica Musica and Nieuw Amsterdamse Peil.  He was a member of the avant-garde Dutch contemporary music group, Nieuw Ensemble, with whom he toured China and recorded over 40 works.

As a folk musician, David has toured Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia singing his songs with The History of Dynamite.  His folk-opera, The Odyssey was performed at the Banff Centre and subsequently at Theater de Cameleon in Amsterdam.  He plays fiddle and guitar and has performed with Van Dyke Parks, Bill Frisell and Patrick Watson.  

He lives with his wife and 4 children in Wakefield, QC.

Menu

|
Alto solo associé

David Marks

En 2014, après 12 ans à l’étranger, l’altiste David Marks est revenu au Canada pour accepter le poste d’alto solo associé au sein de l’Orchestre du CNA. Né à Vancouver, David a grandi en Virginie dans une famille musicale. Dès un jeune âge, il s’adonne à la composition, à l’écriture, au dessin et à la peinture; ces passions ont donné lieu à des dizaines de chansons originales, de toiles et de murales. Ses études d’alto l’ont mené à travers les États-Unis et l’Europe pour apprendre auprès de Roberto Diaz, Atar Arad, Karen Tuttle, Gerard Caussé, Thomas Riebl et Nobuko Imai, ainsi qu’au Banff Centre, à l’Académie de Musique Tibor Varga et à Prussia Cove.  

En Europe, Marks a été alto solo pour l’Orchestre de Montpellier et l’Opéra de Bordeaux, La Orquesta de la Ciudad de Granada, Holland Symfonia et Amsterdam Sinfonietta. Il a été alto solo de l’Orchestre philharmonique de Londres sous les baguettes de Vladimir Jurowski, Christoph Eschenbach, Yannick Nezet-Seguin et Marin Alsop. Un incontournable de la scène musicale contemporaine, il s’est produit à travers l’Europe avec l’Ensemble Asko/Schonberg, l’Ensemble Moderne, le Mondriaan Quartet, Fabrica Musica et Nieuw Amsterdamse Peil. Il a été membre du groupe de musique contemporaine d’avant-garde danois Nieuw Ensemble, avec qui il a tourné en Chine et enregistré plus de 40 œuvres.

En tant que musicien folk, Marks a tourné en Lettonie, en Lithuanie et en Estonie avec ses chansons de The History of Dynamite. Son opéra folk The Odyssey a été interprété au Banff Centre et subséquemment au Theater de Cameleon à Amsterdam. Il joue du violon et de la guitare, et a déjà accompagné Van Dyke Parks, Bill Frisell et Patrick Watson.  

Il habite à Wakefield, au Québec, avec sa femme et leurs quatre enfants. 

Menu