|
Manager of Artistic Planning, NAC Orchestra

Daphne Burt

Daphne Burt is the manager of artistic planning for the Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra. With music director Alexander Shelley, she leads the program planning for the full season of the NAC Orchestra, where her passions are discovering new voices and supporting the work of Canadian artists.

Throughout her career in classical music, including programming for the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra and the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra, she has worked with a long list of  conductors and composes alike, including Pinchas Zukerman, Oliver Knussen, Xian Zhang, Joana Carneiro, Howard Shore, Philip Glass, and Ana Sokolovic.,

As artistic manager for the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, Ms. Burt was a founding member of Symphonic Pops Consortium which, from within the orchestra industry, develops new programs of popular music for North American Orchestras.  

Daphne has called Canada home for the past 20 years. She hails from south Georgia, where she learned bassoon and piano, and  her childhood delights were old movies, marching band, and her family’s catfish restaurant.

Menu

|
Gestionnaire de la planification artistique, Orchestre du CNA

Daphne Burt

Daphne Burt est gestionnaire de la planification artistique de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts. En partenariat avec le directeur musical Alexander Shelley, elle assure la planification de la programmation de la saison complète de l’Orchestre du CNA, où elle aime particulièrement découvrir de nouvelles voix ainsi que soutenir les œuvres d’artistes d’ici.

Au cours de sa carrière dans le domaine de la musique classique, notamment à la programmation de l’Orchestre symphonique de Milwaukee et de l’Orchestre symphonique de Saint-Louis, Burt a travaillé avec de nombreux chefs d’orchestre, compositrices et compositeurs, parmi lesquels Pinchas Zukerman, Oliver Knussen, Xian Zhang, Joana Carneiro, Howard Shore, Philip Glass et Ana Sokolović.

En tant que responsable artistique de l’Orchestre symphonique de Milwaukee, elle a été une membre fondatrice du Symphonic Pops Consortium qui, au sein même du milieu orchestral, concocte des programmes de musique populaire inédits destinés aux orchestres nord-américains.

Daphne Burt vit au Canada depuis une vingtaine d’années. Elle est originaire du sud de la Géorgie, où elle a appris le basson et le piano. Enfant, elle adorait les vieux films, les fanfares et le restaurant de poisson-chat de sa famille.

Menu