Headshot of Cris Derksen © Tanja Tiziana
Cellist, composer

Cris Derksen

Last updated: January 31, 2023

Juno-nominated Cris Derksen is an Internationally respected Indigenous Cellist and Composer. In a world where almost everything—people, music, cultures—gets labelled and slotted into simple categories, Cris Derksen represents a challenge. Originally from Northern Alberta, she comes from a line of chiefs from NorthTall Cree Reserve on her father’s side and a line of strong Mennonite homesteaders on her mother’s. Derksen braids the traditional and contemporary, weaving her classical background and Indigenous ancestry with new school electronics to create genre-defying music.

As composer Derksen has a foot in many worlds, 2019 compositions include Maada’ookii Songlines – a Mass Choral piece for 250 singers Commissioned by Luminato Festival. Rebellion—a short symphony commissioned by the Thunder Bay Symphony Orchestra. Iron Peggy – a Theatre piece commissioned by the Vancouver Children’s Festival. A new performance art piece commissioned by the National Art Gallery of Canada, Ikumagiialit. Her 2018 works include the DORA Award for Best Sound Design for Theatre 2018; Kiinalik: these sharp tools, TIFF Premier Biidaaban (the dawn comes) Short Animation Film by Amanda Strong, Ka:hawai Dance Company production of BloodTides, Kamloopa Theatre production, 2018 Banff Centre for the Arts String Quartet Residency White Mans Cattle and Wood Quintet International 5 bucks per head.

As a performer, Derksen performs nationally and internationally solo and with some of Canada’s finest, including Tanya Tagaq, Buffy Sainte Marie, Naomi Klein, and Leanne Simpson, to name a few. Recent destinations include Hong Kong, Australia, Mongolia, Sweden, and a whole lot of Canada—the place Derksen refers to as home.

Upcoming events

  1. Curated by Olivia C. Davies, Matriarchs Uprising is a unique festival of exchange and sharing through dance and performances, workshops and conversation. The … read more

Projects & initiatives

Dancing the Land

Indigenous Theatre invited artists from coast to coast to coast to create brief digital works using the land as their source of inspiration. 

NAC media featuring Cris Derksen

Menu

Portrait de Cris Derksen © Tanja Tiziana
Violoncelliste et compositrice

Cris Derksen

Dernière mise à jour: 31 janvier 2023

Finaliste aux prix JUNO, Cris Derksen est une violoncelliste et compositrice autochtone dont le talent brille à l’international. Dans un monde qui se plait à mettre des étiquettes à presque tout – aux gens, à la musique et aux cultures – Cris Derksen fait figure d’électron libre. Dans son arbre généalogique, on retrouve des chefs de la réserve crie de North Tall du côté paternel et de robustes homesteaders mennonites, du côté maternel. Entre traditionnel et contemporaine, cette native du nord de l’Alberta puise dans sa formation classique, ses racines autochtones et l’électronique pour composer une musique radicalement inclassable.

Dans ses compositions, Cris Derksen navigue entre les univers musicaux, elle qui n’aime pas se cantonner dans un seul style. Rien qu’en 2019, elle crée quatre œuvres de commande : Maada’ookii Songlines, une pièce chorale pour 250 interprètes (Festival Luminato), la brève symphonie Rebellion (Orchestre symphonique de Thunder Bay), la pièce de théâtre Iron Peggy (Festival des enfants de Vancouver) et enfin une œuvre-performance, Ikumagiialit (Musée des beaux-arts du Canada). En 2018, elle participe à divers projets, notamment la pièce Kiinalik: these sharp tools (prix Dora pour la meilleure conception sonore au théâtre), le court métrage d’animation Biidaaban (the dawn comes) de Amanda Strong présenté en première au TIFF, la production BloodTides de Kaha:wi Dance Theatre, la pièce Kamloopa, et dans le cadre d’une résidence au Centre des arts de Banff un quatuor à cordes, White Mans Cattle, et l’œuvre 5 bucks per head pour quintette à vent.

Sur scène, Cris Derksen se produit dans le monde entier, en solo, ou en collaboration avec des artistes remarquables comme Tanya Tagaq, Buffy Sainte Marie, Naomi Klein, ou encore Leanne Simpson. Son art l’a conduite à travers le monde, notamment à Hong Kong, en Australie, en Mongolie, en Suède et aux quatre coins du Canada, là où elle se sent chez elle.

Événements

Projets et initiatives

Et danse la terre

Le Théâtre autochtone a invité des artistes d’un océan à l’autre, à l’autre, à concevoir de brèves œuvres numériques s’inspirant du territoire. 

Médias du CNA avec Cris Derksen

Menu