April 8, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Crazy Smooth | Becki Peckham
Choreographer and performer

Crazy Smooth

Ottawa

Dancing since 1997, Crazy Smooth is one of Canada’s top street dancers, performers, choreographers, instructors, judges, and community leaders. He is the founder and artistic director of Bboyizm, an award-winning street-dance company that has been instrumental in the preservation and proliferation of street dance in Canada and internationally.

Crazy Smooth was named the 2020 Clifford E Lee award recipient by the Banff Centre for the Arts for his work-in-progress In My Body, currently in creation as the 2019-2021 Long Term Artist in Residence at the Centre de Création O Vertigo in Montreal. The project has received a CanDance Creation Fund grant and significant investment from the NAC National Creation Fund.

In 2004, Smooth founded Bboyizm and the company has successfully brought authentic street dance into the professional theatre setting. Three of his full-length creations— The Evolution of B-boying, IZM, and Music Creates Opportunity—have toured throughout Canada. The company has been nominated for a Dora award (2012) and won both the Atlantic Presenters Association Touring Performers of the Year Award (2013) and the Ontario Presenters Network Emerging Touring Artist of the Year (2012).

Crazy Smooth has performed, taught, coached, and judged competitions in cities and events throughout North America and Europe.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 2 septembre 2021.
Crazy Smooth | Becki Peckham
Chorégraphe et interprète

Crazy Smooth

Gatineau

Sur les planches depuis 1997, Crazy Smooth est l’un des principaux danseurs, artistes, chorégraphes, instructeurs, juges et dirigeants communautaires du Canada. Il est le fondateur et directeur artistique de Bboyizm, compagnie primée spécialisée dans la danse de rue qui a joué un rôle déterminant dans la préservation et le développement de cet art au Canada et dans le monde.

Crazy Smooth est récipiendaire de l’édition 2020 du Clifford E Lee Award décerné par le Banff Centre for the Arts pour In My Body, l’œuvre qu’il élabore actuellement en tant qu’artiste en résidence à long terme 2019-2021 au Centre de Création O Vertigo à Montréal. Ce projet a bénéficié d’une subvention du Fonds de création CanDanse CanDance et d’un investissement significatif du Fonds national de création du CNA.

C’est en 2004 que Crazy Smooth a fondé sa compagnie, Bboyizm, qui a fait évolué avec succès la danse de rue authentique vers la scène théâtrale professionnelle. Trois de ses créations d’envergure – The Evolution of B-boying, IZM et Music Creates Opportunity – ont été présentées partout au Canada. La compagnie a été sélectionnée pour un Dora Award en 2012 et a reçu le Atlantic Presenters Association Touring Performers of the Year Award en 2013 ainsi que le prix du « Ontario Presenters Network Emerging Touring Artist of the Year, en 2012 ».

Crazy Smooth a donné des spectacles, agi comme enseignant, entraîneur et juge dans divers concours partout en Amérique du nord et en Europe.

Menu