We are open, with charging stations, free WiFi and complementary coffee.
Christopher House | David Leyes
Artistic Director, Toronto Dance Theatre

Christopher House

Toronto Dance Theatre

Toronto

Canada

Born and raised in St. John’s, Newfoundland, Christopher House has been Artistic Director of Toronto Dance Theatre since 1994.

In addition to contributing over fifty works to the TDT repertoire, he has created choreographies for many other companies and individuals, directed two collaborations with alt-pop band The Hidden Cameras, and made several short films and videos. His work has toured across Canada, the USA and to major centres in Europe and Asia.

Increasingly active as a teacher, mentor, writer and public speaker, he has continued his performance practice in his own works and in those of Sarah Chase, Peter Chin, Deborah Hay and Ame Henderson among others.

Christopher House has received many awards for his work including three Dora Mavor Moore Awards, the Muriel Sherrin Award for International Achievement in Dance, an honorary doctorate from Memorial University and the Silver Ticket Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Menu

Les événements sur nos scènes et dans nos espaces publics vont de l’avant.
Christopher House | David Leyes
Directeur artistique, Toronto Dance Theatre

Christopher House

Toronto Dance Theatre

Toronto

Christopher House est né et a grandi à St. John’s à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Directeur artistique du Toronto Dance Theatre (TDT) depuis 1994, il a collaboré à plus de 50 œuvres au répertoire de la compagnie.

Il a en outre signé des chorégraphies pour une foule de compagnies et d’artistes, dirigé deux collaborations avec le groupe de musique pop-alternatif The Hidden Cameras, et réalisé plusieurs courts métrages et vidéos. Ses créations ont été présentées en tournée partout au Canada, aux États-Unis et dans des grands centres d’Europe et d’Asie.

De plus en plus actif comme enseignant, mentor, auteur et conférencier, il continue parallèlement de pratiquer la danse dans ses propres pièces et dans celles de Sarah Chase, Peter Chin, Deborah Hay et Ame Henderson.

Christopher House a reçu de nombreuses distinctions, dont trois prix Dora Mavor Moore, le prix Muriel Sherrin pour ses réalisations internationales en danse, un doctorat honorifique de l’Université Memorial et le Silver Ticket Award pour l’ensemble de son œuvre. 

Menu